SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD??? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2012, 04:42 PM   #21 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD???

Did you choose savedisk or saveparts when you made the image?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 04:43 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Prisonbreak94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Turkey
Posts: 258
Send a message via MSN to Prisonbreak94
Default Re: SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD???

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Did you choose savedisk or saveparts when you made the image?
savedisk
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"Be the change you want to see in the world..."
Hot System
Case - Cooler Master RC-690 460W | Mobo - Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5 1866MHz | RAM - 4GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz CL9 | CPU - AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition | GPU - Sapphire HD5850 Toxic | PSU - High Power 650W | HDD - Seagate 500GB 32MB Sata2 7200RPM | OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Monitor - Philips 22'' 220XW8FB
If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the scale under my avatar
Prisonbreak94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 04:47 PM   #23 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD???

Yeah, that should have worked then. Let me look into some stuff and I'll get back to you.

I know it should work because I've done it before from a large HDD to a 120GB SSD lol.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 04:54 PM   #24 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD???

Ok, after looking at the limitations on CloneZilla's page:

Quote:
The destination partition must be equal or larger than the source one.
I remember what I did. I used GParted to resize the partition on the large drive so that it was less than the size of the SSD.

If you want to do multiple partitions, you may have to do multiple images. Does your large drive have multiple partitions that you want to copy over (e.g. recovery partition + main partition)? If this is the case, then you'll have to partition the SSD to match the original disk (2 partitions on original drive = 2 partitions on SSD).

I would highly suggest just putting the original drive back into the laptop and creating the recovery discs first. That way, in case this doesn't work quite right, and you can't copy over the recovery partition, then you'll at least have original discs to go back to for the factory image. I know it would be a pain, but IMO this would be the best route as a "just in case" measure. Then if you want, you can continue the clone as I described above (do each partition at a time rather than whole disk clone).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 05:01 PM   #25 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Prisonbreak94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Turkey
Posts: 258
Send a message via MSN to Prisonbreak94
Default Re: SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD???

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Ok, after looking at the limitations on CloneZilla's page:



I remember what I did. I used GParted to resize the partition on the large drive so that it was less than the size of the SSD.

If you want to do multiple partitions, you may have to do multiple images. Does your large drive have multiple partitions that you want to copy over (e.g. recovery partition + main partition)? If this is the case, then you'll have to partition the SSD to match the original disk (2 partitions on original drive = 2 partitions on SSD).

I would highly suggest just putting the original drive back into the laptop and creating the recovery discs first. That way, in case this doesn't work quite right, and you can't copy over the recovery partition, then you'll at least have original discs to go back to for the factory image. I know it would be a pain, but IMO this would be the best route as a "just in case" measure. Then if you want, you can continue the clone as I described above (do each partition at a time rather than whole disk clone).
I see. Thanks for looking into this.

It seems I have no other option but to open up the back of the laptop and change the hard disks around once again. I didn't like doing it the first time, but I guess I have to do it once more. Got to try and be more gentle this time! Once I get the original hdd in there I won't really have to clone the partition anymore, as my main purpose is to create the recovery disks. Once that's done, I'm done with the original laptop hard drive.

Do you think I will have to close the back of the laptop completely once I place the old hard drive back in there before I start up the laptop and create the recovery discs? Because that would mean I would have to open it up twice more, once to put the old hdd back in and create the recovery disks, and once to replace the laptop HDD with the SSD for the second time..
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"Be the change you want to see in the world..."
Hot System
Case - Cooler Master RC-690 460W | Mobo - Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5 1866MHz | RAM - 4GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz CL9 | CPU - AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition | GPU - Sapphire HD5850 Toxic | PSU - High Power 650W | HDD - Seagate 500GB 32MB Sata2 7200RPM | OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Monitor - Philips 22'' 220XW8FB
If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the scale under my avatar
Prisonbreak94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 05:05 PM   #26 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD???

You should probably be fine as long as you're gentle with it while the recovery disks are being created.

Sorry I couldn't be of more help!
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 05:32 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Prisonbreak94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Turkey
Posts: 258
Send a message via MSN to Prisonbreak94
Default Re: SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD???

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
You should probably be fine as long as you're gentle with it while the recovery disks are being created.

Sorry I couldn't be of more help!
I will do that, no worries. You've been very helpful, no reason to apologise whatsoever! Thanks a lot!
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"Be the change you want to see in the world..."
Hot System
Case - Cooler Master RC-690 460W | Mobo - Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5 1866MHz | RAM - 4GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz CL9 | CPU - AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition | GPU - Sapphire HD5850 Toxic | PSU - High Power 650W | HDD - Seagate 500GB 32MB Sata2 7200RPM | OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Monitor - Philips 22'' 220XW8FB
If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the scale under my avatar
Prisonbreak94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 05:32 PM   #28 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD???

Not a problem, glad to help.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 08:48 AM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Prisonbreak94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Turkey
Posts: 258
Send a message via MSN to Prisonbreak94
Default Re: SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD???

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Not a problem, glad to help.
Sorry to start up the thread again but, I found something and I'm wondering what you'll think. It's some sort of USB to SATA conversion thing (see link below). If I got something like this and connected the old hdd to my laptop via USB, I could boot from it and create the recovery disk, right?

Sabrent SATA-C35U Storage controller- Serial ATA-150- 150 MBps
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"Be the change you want to see in the world..."
Hot System
Case - Cooler Master RC-690 460W | Mobo - Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5 1866MHz | RAM - 4GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz CL9 | CPU - AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition | GPU - Sapphire HD5850 Toxic | PSU - High Power 650W | HDD - Seagate 500GB 32MB Sata2 7200RPM | OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Monitor - Philips 22'' 220XW8FB
If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the scale under my avatar
Prisonbreak94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 08:57 AM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD???

Why do you need to use SATA? If speed is your problem, you are still limited by the USB speed. You can use a external drive fine with Clonezilla.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
restore factory settings? djsanders Laptops and Notebooks 2 05-23-2011 08:48 PM
restore a dell to factory setting adhikary_a Microsoft Windows and Software 9 03-29-2011 12:24 PM
dell factory image restore help fuzzypumpkins Microsoft Windows and Software 3 09-03-2009 10:35 PM
factory restore without recovery disk?? Cosmo2003 Microsoft Windows and Software 8 02-03-2007 09:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.