SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2012, 12:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Prisonbreak94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Turkey
Posts: 258
Send a message via MSN to Prisonbreak94
Question SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD???

Hi guys,

I purchased the Samsung NP700Z7C-S01US just a few days ago. With it I also got a 512GB Crucial SSD, as the hard drive slows the machine down a little bit. When I got the laptop, I noticed that there was a disc labeled SAMSUNG RECOVERY MEDIA so I didn't even think about creating any sort of disc using the Samsung Recovery Solution software.

I went ahead and installed the SSD on to my new laptop and eventually found out that the disc did not contain anything other than a windows 7 install. I am a little frustrated about this because I want to restore to the factory settings which has a bunch of things including microsoft office and a norton antivirus subscription etc. I realise that I can pop the original HDD back into the laptop and create the restore DVD, but I do not want to do this as it was a pain to open up the laptop and I ended up scratching the edges of it. I connected the HDD to my desktop, and the desktop sees the drive just fine, but I cannot boot from it. Is there anything I can do to restore to the factory settings WITHOUT creating a DVD using samsung recovery solution on the original hard disk?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"Be the change you want to see in the world..."
Hot System
Case - Cooler Master RC-690 460W | Mobo - Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5 1866MHz | RAM - 4GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz CL9 | CPU - AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition | GPU - Sapphire HD5850 Toxic | PSU - High Power 650W | HDD - Seagate 500GB 32MB Sata2 7200RPM | OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Monitor - Philips 22'' 220XW8FB
If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the scale under my avatar
Prisonbreak94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 12:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD???

There should just be a compartment underneath that you remove one or two screws. It's not big deal. You don't have to open the whole thing to get to it.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 12:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Prisonbreak94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Turkey
Posts: 258
Send a message via MSN to Prisonbreak94
Default Re: SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD???

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
There should just be a compartment underneath that you remove one or two screws. It's not big deal. You don't have to open the whole thing to get to it.

Unfortunately that is not the case. I opened the thing up to replace the HDD with the SSD, so I can tell you from experience. But if you want to see for yourself, here's a video of the process.

It was not nice having to do that, and it was harder than it looks on that video, too. I scratched the edges of the laptop doing that so I really don't want to repeat the process. Is there really nothing else I can do? Is it not possible to boot the laptop hdd from my desktop? It's connected just fine and I can even browse the HDD on my desktop, but I tried booting once and it didn't work (going to try again now)...
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"Be the change you want to see in the world..."
Hot System
Case - Cooler Master RC-690 460W | Mobo - Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5 1866MHz | RAM - 4GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz CL9 | CPU - AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition | GPU - Sapphire HD5850 Toxic | PSU - High Power 650W | HDD - Seagate 500GB 32MB Sata2 7200RPM | OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Monitor - Philips 22'' 220XW8FB
If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the scale under my avatar
Prisonbreak94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 01:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD???

It won't work on your desktop. You are running on totally different hardware. Windows will say "What is all this, OK I give up." Either BSOD or freeze up. Why not just copy the recovery partition?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 01:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Prisonbreak94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Turkey
Posts: 258
Send a message via MSN to Prisonbreak94
Default Re: SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD???

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
It won't work on your desktop. You are running on totally different hardware. Windows will say "What is all this, OK I give up." Either BSOD or freeze up. Why not just copy the recovery partition?
You mean like clone the hard disk? I can't do that without opening the laptop again if I'm not mistaken
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"Be the change you want to see in the world..."
Hot System
Case - Cooler Master RC-690 460W | Mobo - Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5 1866MHz | RAM - 4GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz CL9 | CPU - AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition | GPU - Sapphire HD5850 Toxic | PSU - High Power 650W | HDD - Seagate 500GB 32MB Sata2 7200RPM | OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Monitor - Philips 22'' 220XW8FB
If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the scale under my avatar
Prisonbreak94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 01:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD???

You can use Clonezilla and write it to DVD's, or an external. Then apply the image on your laptop. I believe.

Clonezilla is bootable.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 01:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Prisonbreak94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Turkey
Posts: 258
Send a message via MSN to Prisonbreak94
Default Re: SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD???

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
You can use Clonezilla and write it to DVD's, or an external. Then apply the image on your laptop. I believe.

Clonezilla is bootable.
I will have a look into that and see what happens. Just to confirm, you're saying that I can use clonezilla on my desktop to clone the laptop HDD image to an external hard drive OR DVD and then connect that external hard drive/DVD to my laptop to then apply the image on to my SSD, is that right?

Thanks
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"Be the change you want to see in the world..."
Hot System
Case - Cooler Master RC-690 460W | Mobo - Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5 1866MHz | RAM - 4GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz CL9 | CPU - AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition | GPU - Sapphire HD5850 Toxic | PSU - High Power 650W | HDD - Seagate 500GB 32MB Sata2 7200RPM | OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Monitor - Philips 22'' 220XW8FB
If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the scale under my avatar
Prisonbreak94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 02:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD???

Yes, as long as the total size of the image is less than the size of the SSD, then yes.

Just burn CloneZilla to a DVD, boot off of it, choose to create an image of the drive. Then boot off of clonezilla on your laptop, hook up the external that has your image, and choose to restore an image, and restore it to your SSD.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 02:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Prisonbreak94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Turkey
Posts: 258
Send a message via MSN to Prisonbreak94
Default Re: SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD???

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Yes, as long as the total size of the image is less than the size of the SSD, then yes.

Just burn CloneZilla to a DVD, boot off of it, choose to create an image of the drive. Then boot off of clonezilla on your laptop, hook up the external that has your image, and choose to restore an image, and restore it to your SSD.
Thank you. I'm doing it right now. Hopefully I didn't do anything wrong! I'll be back with feedback soon
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"Be the change you want to see in the world..."
Hot System
Case - Cooler Master RC-690 460W | Mobo - Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5 1866MHz | RAM - 4GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz CL9 | CPU - AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition | GPU - Sapphire HD5850 Toxic | PSU - High Power 650W | HDD - Seagate 500GB 32MB Sata2 7200RPM | OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Monitor - Philips 22'' 220XW8FB
If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the scale under my avatar
Prisonbreak94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 02:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: SAMSUNG Factory Restore on New SSD WITHOUT DVD???

Just make sure you don't do a disk-to-disk clone (have had this wreak havoc on a system), and make sure you're making an image of the correct drive. CloneZilla is quite straightforward; I've used it quite often before.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
restore factory settings? djsanders Laptops and Notebooks 2 05-23-2011 08:48 PM
restore a dell to factory setting adhikary_a Microsoft Windows and Software 9 03-29-2011 12:24 PM
dell factory image restore help fuzzypumpkins Microsoft Windows and Software 3 09-03-2009 10:35 PM
factory restore without recovery disk?? Cosmo2003 Microsoft Windows and Software 8 02-03-2007 09:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.