Safe To Increase Resolution Beyond Maximum Settings? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2015, 10:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
W͂O̠̳ͨ̍̍̒̈́͛̕Ķ͎̠̱̰̓ͦĒ ̍̓ͦ
 
zaka100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 747
Default Safe To Increase Resolution Beyond Maximum Settings?

I was using unity on my laptop with a 1280x800 resolution and i noticed everything was cramped. I want to go beyond my max resolution to 1440x900 but when I was changing my settings in the nvidia control panel, it gave me a warning that it may break my monitor or corrupt the bios. I haven't changed anything yet. Is it safe to change the settings?
__________________

__________________

My Build
CPU - AMD X4 860k @ 3.7ghz
GPU - Nvidia GeForce 780
RAM - 2x HyperX Fury 4gb
MOBO - MSI A78M-E35
SSD - 120gb Kingston Hyper X
HDD - WD 320gb
Steam: zaka100123
zaka100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 11:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Safe To Increase Resolution Beyond Maximum Settings?

If you set it outside of the maximum of what your panel can support, you'll get an Out Of Range message on your display - or in the case with a laptop, probably just a black screen. Then you'd have to boot into VGA Mode in Windows in order to fix/reset the resolution.

If you want a higher res than what your built-in panel can support...you'll need to either use an external monitor that supports a higher res, or replace the panel itself with a higher res version, if one is available. You can check https://www.laptopscreen.com/ for replacement/compatible panels for your laptop brand/model.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 01:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
W͂O̠̳ͨ̍̍̒̈́͛̕Ķ͎̠̱̰̓ͦĒ ̍̓ͦ
 
zaka100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 747
Default Re: Safe To Increase Resolution Beyond Maximum Settings?

Oh, ok.
__________________

My Build
CPU - AMD X4 860k @ 3.7ghz
GPU - Nvidia GeForce 780
RAM - 2x HyperX Fury 4gb
MOBO - MSI A78M-E35
SSD - 120gb Kingston Hyper X
HDD - WD 320gb
Steam: zaka100123
zaka100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What BIOS CPU settings to disable for maximum speed before overclocking? braz Overclocking and Modding 4 11-01-2011 03:11 AM
Maximum Safe Temperature for HD 5970? earwicker7 Overclocking and Modding 2 11-04-2010 04:48 PM
What determines maximum RAM and maximum overclock? mm66554 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 12-06-2009 10:05 AM
Increase Internet Security With Safe SSL Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 04-27-2009 03:41 PM
Maximum safe heat? weringo Overclocking and Modding 2 10-29-2005 09:30 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.