Running Wireless Card on old lappy with ME - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2009, 06:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
porgorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 76
Default Running Wireless Card on old lappy with ME

Hi.
I've got a pretty old laptop [Satellite 2800] which I did have XP SP3 running on it with a PLANET WL-3552 Wireless card putting me online.
However it was running really slowly as it only has 192Mb RAM. I was told it could handle XP but it clearly couldn't.

I then put ME as it could handle that but found that I couldn't get the PLANET card to work.
It's an old card too so no driver updates exsist. Searching for the same problem I found this that explains what I'm getting -
Quote:
The card is shown in the Device Manager with a Yellow exclamation point. When I view the properties, it gives me a "Code 2" which basically states that the NDIS.VXD and NTKERN.VXD device loaders are unable to load the device driver for this device.
ME tries to update but to no avail. Is this a hopeless cause? If that's the case then is there any OS that the laptop could handle like a basic Linux?
__________________

porgorg is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 07:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Running Wireless Card on old lappy with ME

You will not be able to find win ME drivers for your card. Even if you could you would not want to run ME anyways. You could try win 2k as there are drivers for that OS if you have a copy.

As for Linux versions, while I am sure there are versions you could run, that is not something I know about. Sorry.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 07:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
porgorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 76
Default Re: Running Wireless Card on old lappy with ME

Ah cheers.
Is Win 2k about as resource hungry as ME, but not as much as XP?
porgorg is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 09:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Running Wireless Card on old lappy with ME

Pretty close. Here are the minimum specs to run it.

Before you install the Windows 2000 Professional desktop operating system, make sure that your computer meets the following minimum system requirements:

* 133 MHz or more Pentium microprocessor (or equivalent). Windows 2000 Professional supports up to two processors on a single computer.
* 64 megabytes (MB) of RAM recommended minimum. 32 MB of RAM is the minimum supported. 4 gigabytes (GB) of RAM is the maximum.
* A 2 GB hard disk that has 650 MB of free space. If you are installing over a network, more free hard disk space is required.
* VGA or higher-resolution monitor.
* Keyboard.
* Mouse or compatible pointing device (optional).

For CD-ROM installation:

* CD drive or DVD drive
* High-density 3.5-inch disk drive, unless your CD drive supports starting the Setup program from a CD

For network installation:

* Windows 2000-compatible network adapter and related cable (See the Hardware Compatibility List (Hcl.txt) in the Support folder on the Windows 2000 Professional CD)
* Access to the network share that contains the Setup files
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 02:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
porgorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 76
Default Re: Running Wireless Card on old lappy with ME

Okay, put on Win2K. Updated the drivers for it but still the PLANET wireless card isn't working.
All I'm getting is:
Quote:
This device is not working properly because Windows cannot load the drivers required for this device (Code 31)
I've uninstalled it a few times but it's still having none of it.
porgorg is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 02:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Running Wireless Card on old lappy with ME

Give this one a shot for manual install. Nt driver.

http://ftp.brawijaya.ac.id/kang_ono/...4/OEMSETUP.INF
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 06:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
porgorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 76
Default

Thanks for the link but then how do I manually install the inf file?

I tried right-clicking and choosing install but it failed.

Oh yeah, it's also asking for a driver for a PCI Simple Communications Controller. Is this in need of a LAN driver so it can operate the Netword card?
I've also tried installing a driver for that but it keeps coming up with problems.

Found out the PCI device was just the modem - pointless but installed now.

Still haven't managed to get the inf file installed though
porgorg is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 09:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Running Wireless Card on old lappy with ME

Find the card in device manager when it is plugged in. Should show up as a network adapter with a yellow mark or as a unidentified pcmia card. Right mouse click it and select install or update driver. Click have disk. browse to the location of the inf file and let it install.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 09:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
porgorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 76
Default Re: Running Wireless Card on old lappy with ME

All it says is
Quote:
The specified location does not contain information about your hardware.
Also got a different effor message
Quote:
The INF or the device information set or the element does not match the specified install class.
An Inf Error Occurs During Installation of a Network Adapter on a Windows 2000-Based Computer - even tried this but still it has errors.
__________________

porgorg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
recognizing wireless card blue4paper Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-06-2009 07:42 PM
Wireless card not detecting network (please help) SHNAPPS Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 02-23-2009 06:50 PM
XP won't recognize wireless card Albee2008 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 09-26-2008 11:29 AM
Dynex wireless card with fedora 7 krazy_taco Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-17-2007 01:08 PM
Wireless card not working. gossamer Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-14-2007 02:48 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.