Restoring a laptop to factory settings? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2009, 07:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Exclamation Restoring a laptop to factory settings?

Hello I have a Toshiba Satellite L355D-S7815. Model No.: PSLE8U-00M00W, Serial No.: 88251379Q. I have got a virus and spyware on this laptop, and now it won't respond to any of my commands! (Won't open internet to right page, random offline pop-ups.) Now the internet is busted and it will not work! So I back upped my data to DVD+R. Now I am ready to restore my laptop to its original state. (Yes I have a recovery portion, it is called Recovery). However, I am having some trouble restoring the laptop, I got to the Restore to original settings or whatever. I'm having trouble at this step because it asks if I have a cd, and if I don't. (If I don't, use a factory image cd or w/e). So I stopped there because I have the CD's, but I still have my back-up cd's. I looked online, but there was no solution. So do I have to use the CD's or can I use the recovery portion on the computer? (And then load my data from the backup cd's)? Help please?

-Thanks, James Choi
__________________

4514n5 is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 08:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Restoring a laptop to factory settings?

Reboot and enter the recovery partition that way. Should tell you to press a key during the POST screen (where it shows the Toshiba logo).
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 03-17-2009, 08:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Restoring a laptop to factory settings?

Thanks, but do I have to use the cd's? (because i have a recovery partition)
4514n5 is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 08:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Restoring a laptop to factory settings?

No, that's what the recovery partition is for, so you don't need to use recovery CD's.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 03-17-2009, 08:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Restoring a laptop to factory settings?

Ok! Thanks, but how would i get to that menu? (like hit F8 or w/e). Thanks so much in advance anyway! (Is there a guide to as said above ^^)
4514n5 is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 07:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Restoring a laptop to factory settings?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4514n5 View Post
Thanks, but do I have to use the cd's? (because i have a recovery partition)
I have long lost faith in recovery CDs for notebooks. Half of them don't even work. The other half just installs extra garbage don't need.

Just boot from a normal windows Xp / Vista Cd and the install using the serial number from your notebook. The download the drivers from Toshiba's website.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Custom Built vs. Pre-built vs. Gaming laptop. HELP! scepstein New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-13-2008 02:50 PM
Have You Ever Built a Laptop Sleeve Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 09-27-2008 11:28 AM
EP45-DS3R won't allow Q9450 overclock past 3.2GHz or retain manual voltage settings mikeynavy1976 Overclocking and Modding 24 08-20-2008 02:59 AM
using laptop to extend wifi range? johnmalc Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 07-10-2008 06:42 AM
Restoring a Satellite Navigation To factory Settings ? NayNay1991x Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 1 05-11-2007 02:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.