Reformatting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2007, 03:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 60
Default Reformatting

I'm not what is happening to my computer, but it is annoying the **** out of me, so I was thinking of reformatting my HD, and reinstall everything on again. The only problem is that, since it is a laptop, would I lost most of the drivers needed for a laptop, such as the shortcut buttons attached to the casing, like volume control and the battery?

If there is no problem with that, how would I reformat my computer, when I don't have a floppy drive, since I can't reformat when I am already in my OS. Thx.
__________________

razorbubble is offline  
Old 08-04-2007, 04:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Reformatting

nooo, those buttons are controlled by Windows so formatting wont do anything to them, do you not have your XP disk? If not then you will not be able to do a clean install of Windows unless you pruchase one
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 08-04-2007, 04:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Reformatting

also drivers are normally available on the manufactures web sight and also they should be on the supporting utility disk that came with the laptop.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 08-04-2007, 05:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 60
Default Re: Reformatting

Yes. I do have my windows XP disc.
razorbubble is offline  
Old 08-04-2007, 05:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Reformatting

enter your BIOS and set the cd drive to boot first, pop the disk into the drive and boot into it, from the XP setup you can format then do a clean install of Windows
Nick is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 02:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 60
Default Re: Reformatting

Okay, thx.
__________________

razorbubble is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reformatting computer? what's are the best softwares? bonoz Viruses, Spyware and Malware 5 06-30-2007 11:26 PM
reformatting Vista Vash2940 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 06-22-2007 08:06 PM
Reformatting Gone Bad Smind Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-14-2007 02:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.