Random black rectange appear. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2011, 05:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Random black rectange appear.

Hi everyone.
New day, new problem with my laptop xD.
Sometimes when I'm moving my cursor a black rectangle appears where the cursor has moved for a sec and then goes away.
I've tried new driver installation as Mak suggested, no success.
I've tried reinstalling Win XP SP3 again, no success.
This problem, as far as I've tested, doesn't occur in ubuntu.
Any ideas why this happens? It's really annoying I can't live with it!
Thanx.
EDIT : System specs
T3100 Celeron Dual core @ 1.9 GHz
SIS672 integrated graphics with 256 MB of shared memory
1 GB of ram ( it shares memory with the VGA so it's 768 MB )
160 GB HDD
__________________

Skorpian is offline  
Old 02-25-2011, 05:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Random black rectange appear.

Can you possibly get us a picture of this happening?

I think the reason for that is, your RAM is choking up, taking RAM from your gfx card to compensate. Therefore, your gfx is underpreforming, causing glitches.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-25-2011, 06:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: Random black rectange appear.

It's hard to capture it as it appears for just a sec and goes away but I'll try.
That happens when I'm running the slightest stuff nothing hard is running. I was planning to add one more 1 GB Ram Stick anyways. I just hope the laptop won't have to be opened up completely.
Skorpian is offline  
Old 02-25-2011, 07:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Random black rectange appear.

Depends on the board.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 10:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: Random black rectange appear.

Okay I'll try to get an extra 1 GB of RAM on it soon. I got a quick question though, do the rams need to be identical? Or I just need 1 GB DDR2 667 Mhz to match mines?
Also, I saw someone with Sis mirage 3 graphics card ( like mine ) with 384 MB of shared memory not 256 MB. He had 2 GB RAM and was on windows 7. Will adding an extra RAM allow adding up more shared memory? Because I believe more shared memory = better gaming experience.
Thanks,
Skorpian
Skorpian is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 11:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Random black rectange appear.

You need the RAM to be close as possible to your existing RAM. It will default to your lowest RAM, speed, timings, etc. For laptops, I wouldn't worry about it.

I believe you can change how much memory is used. I'm unsure, though. I never had to worry about it.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 02:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: Random black rectange appear.

Is it necessary the very same brand?
Also, IDK how to change shared memory, does anyone have an idea? My bios is pretty basic, only " clock " , " boot-up sequence " and Password. Other than that, it has nothing which my PC bios has. I read that I have to go to integrated something to change that but I couldn't find it. Is there any third party app to increase the shared memory?
Skorpian is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 02:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Random black rectange appear.

It is recommended to get the same brand. Not the law.

I believe that is set in BIOS. But as yours is crapped, I don't think you can do anything. Anyone else?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-03-2011, 05:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: Random black rectange appear.

Okay mind changed. It might not be the RAM after all. It could be that of bad windows format. I wanna try to use Gparted ( downing the ISO ) but I'm very confused with Mak's tut.
If anyone could simplify it to me, that'd be awesome. I just want to format the C partition ( I have on hdd only, 160 GB hdd ) and then take out the Gparted disk, install XP, done!
Thanks,
Skorpian
Skorpian is offline  
Old 03-06-2011, 01:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: Random black rectange appear.

Bump
__________________

Skorpian is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MW Black Ops Can I run it? treazon PC Gaming 18 11-18-2010 08:16 PM
LCD Gone Black PLEASE HELP madmax670 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-20-2008 03:00 PM
little black box kenz6000 Off Topic Discussion 9 07-28-2007 01:43 AM
Black harry18 Off Topic Discussion 4 05-03-2006 10:10 PM
FS: Black 16x Dvd-Rom & Black Plextor Premium Cd Burner Darrylcee Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 11-09-2005 03:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.