rams take it out?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2007, 04:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default rams take it out??

i have got 1 2gb and 512mb(stock) ram in it and they have the same specs but different brand.should i just remove the 512mb?
__________________

__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 08:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: rams take it out??

Why? So you can have less ram, leading to slower speed? Yea go ahead...
__________________

motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 08:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: rams take it out??

It's ok to have mixed brands, and I agree with motoxer. Since they have the same specs, it's all good.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 06:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: rams take it out??

i thought mizing brands would cause multiple BSODs etc?
Nick is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 06:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: rams take it out??

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
i thought mizing brands would cause multiple BSODs etc?
it can if they run at different voltages.. but running Dual Channel Mode for the same stick types stops this..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 06:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: rams take it out??

run memtest and if no errors occur then you should be good.
I use to run 2 diff brands of ram and had no problems.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 06:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: rams take it out??

I run 4gb of mixed ram with no problems. And i read somewhere the other day they did some testing on single and dual channel mode and it actually made less than 10% difference in the performance by running in single channel.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 08:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default Re: rams take it out??

Keep the 512MB. You might also want to consider bumping up to 2GB by replacing it with another 1GB, and then running in dual channel to take advantage of the small performance boost it offers. Vista runs well with 2GB, and since you are already allocating 256MB to your graphics, you probably should upgrade. But yes, keep the 512MB stick in there for now. No harm in doing that.

Also, off-topic, but I don't think your signature is correct. "DEDICATED" should probably read "SHARED", as there aren't any 1100's in laptops with 256MB dedicated VRAM.
__________________

__________________
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.