ram/ processor upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2008, 01:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 125
Default ram/ processor upgrade?

im sure its been asked before but ill ask anyway. i have a hp dv9000. what do i need to know and do to upgrade from 1gb of ram, to much more. and my intel centrino duo to whatever is recommended? and of course is it worth it?
__________________

generalaxes is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 02:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: ram/ processor upgrade?

RAM: find out what type is currently in there/what type your notebook supports.

CPU: you won't be able to replace this, most likely.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 04-19-2008, 09:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: ram/ processor upgrade?

Go to Memory upgrades, flash media, and usb storage at Crucial.com

That will scan your system and tell you the best combo for the best perofrmance for you system.

The CPU in a laptop you wont be able to replace easily. Not unless you wish to rip the whole laptop apart.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-20-2008, 12:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 125
Default Re: ram/ processor upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Go to Memory upgrades, flash media, and usb storage at Crucial.com

That will scan your system and tell you the best combo for the best performance for you system.

The CPU in a laptop you wont be able to replace easily. Not unless you wish to rip the whole laptop apart.
so according to the scan my laptop can only support 2048mb. i have 1gb now, but with this processor and Xp how much faster will my computer even get (more of less)??
generalaxes is offline  
Old 04-20-2008, 11:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: ram/ processor upgrade?

It will be a bit faster. But unless you do a lot of heavy graphics work or things that require a lot of resources the upgrade wont help you that much.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 09:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default Re: ram/ processor upgrade?

Eh crucial says my computer can take a max of 2GB of RAM, however I installed a 2 GB stick and it now recognizes 3GB. Depending on how old it is/processor it may take more than what Crucial says.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.Ē ~ Samuel Jackson

ďOmnis vir est fortunae faberĒ
JoshSB is offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 11:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: ram/ processor upgrade?

I have not known Crucial to be wrong. Are you sure you looked at the Max yoru Mobo could take?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 10:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 125
Default Re: ram/ processor upgrade?

well i double checked and even though it says that my notebook can only take 2gbs ill see if ill be as lucky as joshsb. so what exactly would i have to do to replace my processor other than find one that my motherboard will support? when you say rip...??
generalaxes is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 10:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: ram/ processor upgrade?

Well first you would rip apart the whole laptop as the CPU is in the middle of it all. After you got it all apart, if you didnt damage or break any of the ribbon cables, you would then get the CPU out and replace it.

That is if the laptop manufacturer allows for this type of thing and didnt make sure that the CPU wasnt soldered in place or anything like that.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-26-2008, 04:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 125
Default Re: ram/ processor upgrade?

this is enraging! i went ahead and let crucial scan my system rather than ask it what i can have. its telling me that i currently have two total slots (i knew that) but i only have 512 in each and its going to cost me 45 to put a gig in each which is worth it crucial has free shipping over 40 right now well with this revelation im going to continue to relearn everything i "knew" about computers and i probably wont be so concerned with replacing my processor now. ill just save up for that vaio i want...
__________________

generalaxes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
Is faster RAM really worth the extra cash ? Osiris System Upgrades 1 04-16-2008 05:08 PM
Kingston RAM wafflehammer New Systems | Building and Buying 33 03-26-2008 01:31 AM
My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 12:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.