RAM - 60% unavaliable - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2015, 09:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2
Question RAM - 60% unavaliable

So...
I have an acer aspire 5750G with 6 GB RAM(1x2GB+1x4GB).
i recently noticed this when i was troubleshooting my pc: under my computer -> properties it says: Installed RAM: 6GB (2,36 GB available)
In task manager under ressource surveillance it says 3731 MB reserved for hardware.
When i take out the 2 GB ram card it says only about 1.8 GB reserved for harware on 4GB RAM card, but when i take out the 4GB RAM card it says only about 200MB reserved for hardware on the 2GB RAM card.
I've already tried the maximize memmory trick in run->msconfig->boot->advanced.
The computer is about 3.5 years old.

Can this be fixed anyhow or would it help buying new RAM?
__________________

Thomasdehli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 09:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,078
Default Re: RAM - 60% unavaliable

Your pc will use it's memory, currently I am using 42% of memory on my pc. Windows is a beast...the more memory you can feed it, the more it'll take.
If you think your using more than you should, you can open your Task Manager, select the Performance tab, and then click on the Resource Monitor at the bottom and from there you can see if anything unusual is eating up your memory excessively. Today's standard for the memory "sweet spot" is 8gb so getting 2-4gb sticks might give more to feed your operating system
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2015, 01:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: RAM - 60% unavaliable

Check BIOS to see how much is being allocated for VRAM (video memory).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2015, 07:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: RAM - 60% unavaliable

I'd do as Carnage suggested, we had an issue like this before, had 8gb but reported 4gb, ended up being a issue with the mobo and had to replace the whole mobo.

Did you use to see 6gb? try checking for firmware update on bios.
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 01:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2
Default Re: RAM - 60% unavaliable

Thx for inputs.
Problem was solved in thread:
Help needed - RAM Unavailable - Page 2 - Tech Support Forum
for the curious
Thomasdehli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 02:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: RAM - 60% unavaliable

Link you posted is to reply to a message/post - which requires login.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 08:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,078
Default Re: RAM - 60% unavaliable

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Link you posted is to reply to a message/post - which requires login.
No log in required for me.....
The OP was running 32 bit Windows 7 Ultimate non-genuine version, upgraded to a legal version of 64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 12:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: RAM - 60% unavaliable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
No log in required for me.....
The OP was running 32 bit Windows 7 Ultimate non-genuine version, upgraded to a legal version of 64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium
Looks like Trotter fixed the link.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 01:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,078
Default Re: RAM - 60% unavaliable

had no idea the link was fixed
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 07:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: RAM - 60% unavaliable

I'm sneaky that way.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ram, ram help, tech help, tech-foums

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM
Ram Ram Ram! wisey12 System Upgrades 4 06-30-2007 12:40 PM
Ram Ram Ram ???? the milkman New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-16-2006 10:50 PM
RAM is RAM is RAM? star_topology Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 17 04-29-2005 04:04 PM
Ram and ram and ram supbro Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 12-19-2004 05:16 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.