R.A.M. swap time, ddr to ddr2, safe idea? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2007, 04:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 164
Default R.A.M. swap time, ddr to ddr2, safe idea?

hello all, thinking its about time to upgrade my laptop (/lol) without replacing it.

only thing im 100% positive i can do to it is to swap out the ram, it should be okay to go from ddr to ddr2 as long as they have the same connector pins right?

my laptop is just over a year old (hp 4307cl), and i just swapped my brothers brand new laptop ram up (2x 256 to 2x1024) from ddr to ddr2, and his computer did fine, of course, its brand new (which makes me wonder why it had less ram in the first place).

i know ddr2 was becoming pretty standard when this computer was produced (late 2005), so, it should be a safe bet to swap up, yes?
__________________

drewjustforyou is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 07:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: R.A.M. swap time, ddr to ddr2, safe idea?

Quote:
Originally Posted by drewjustforyou View Post
hello all, thinking its about time to upgrade my laptop (/lol) without replacing it.

only thing im 100% positive i can do to it is to swap out the ram, it should be okay to go from ddr to ddr2 as long as they have the same connector pins right?
They don't. DDR2 RAM cannot be used in DDR1 slots.



top = DDR2
bottom = DDR1

the notch is slightly offset.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 06:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 164
Default Re: R.A.M. swap time, ddr to ddr2, safe idea?

darn. and there is no chance that my computer is just telling me i have ddr ram, instead of ddr2? well, im going to go price ddr1 ram, hope it comes in the 1gig sticks.

oh, what are the advantages of ddr2 ram?
drewjustforyou is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 08:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: R.A.M. swap time, ddr to ddr2, safe idea?

ddr2 ram is quite a bit faster, up to twice as fast if you use ddr2 800 mhz (compared to ddr's top speed of 400mhz). It's not going to run in your system, though. It physically won't fit into the slots you have. It has more pins and a different design. If your brother's computer is in fact brand new then it used ddr2 ram in the first place.
DDR ram is running about $80 a gig right now on Newegg. Since DDR2 is newer and being manufactured on a much larger scale, it's running about $40-45 a gig.
What are your laptop's specs? Keep in mind if it's a little older you may not be able to go beyond a certain amount or speed of ram. We can help you look at a few options if post specs, brand, and model number, plus what you use it for.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 01:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 164
Default Re: R.A.M. swap time, ddr to ddr2, safe idea?

yea, the thought crossed my mind that my brothers computer came with ddr2 ram (Well duh, it mustve, i installed new ddr2 ram for him just 2 weeks ago now). we both have hp laptops, and the only reason i was wondering if i could use ddr2 ram in my computers was due to product specs errors on hps website, they claim his laptop is ddr, when its obviously ddr2. so i thought it since it was a slip up, maybe they screwed up on mine also.

guess im s.o.l. time to keep saving to build a new gaming rig.
drewjustforyou is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 01:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 164
Default Re: R.A.M. swap time, ddr to ddr2, safe idea?

so, intel graphics cards are the suckage i understand. i can see that. from what ive heard laptop graphics cards are pretty un-replaceable, is that true? am i really that screwed? 1k that couldve gone to a gaming rig, but then, ive taken about a megabyte of notes from class, guess thats worth, idk 20 bucks online..
drewjustforyou is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 01:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: R.A.M. swap time, ddr to ddr2, safe idea?

Quote:
Originally Posted by drewjustforyou View Post
so, intel graphics cards are the suckage i understand. i can see that. from what ive heard laptop graphics cards are pretty un-replaceable, is that true? am i really that screwed?
yep, laptops are not very upgradable. You might be able to find RAM, or a new hard drive, or possibly a CPU, but that's about it.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 02:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 164
Default Re: R.A.M. swap time, ddr to ddr2, safe idea?

salt in the wounds.
drewjustforyou is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 02:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: R.A.M. swap time, ddr to ddr2, safe idea?

Quote:
Originally Posted by drewjustforyou View Post
salt in the wounds.
You can thank the laptop manufacturers for not making things more standard, and instead making as much money as they can by making it all proprietry.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 03:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default Re: R.A.M. swap time, ddr to ddr2, safe idea?

Even if you could physically upgrade to DDR2, latency is doubled compared to DDR, so you would probably notice a performance drop, not increase. Your system wouldn't be able to take advantage of the speed increase either. Not to mention they are completely incompatible.

One great thing about integrated graphics in your notebook is that it consumes much less energy than if you had an upgraded model with X700 graphics. So in reality, you will get better battery life, less heat, and less noise. Battery life, low temperature, and silence are all very desirable in a laptop.

If you have the money, you *can* upgrade to a system with better graphics if you really wanted to. But it would involve completely disassembling your laptop, removing the old motherboard, installing a new motherboard (which can cost hundreds of dollars), and hoping the thing gets put back together correctly. And all you would get out of it is an outdated graphics card.

Your best bet is to craigslist your current laptop, and then take the money you can get from it and put it into a newer model.

Laptops don't make good gaming rigs. Even if you get a powerful machine, it's really quite difficult to pwn using a touchpad. And if you get an external mouse, your practically desk-bound. Might as well invest in a desktop.

It's actually more economical to get a low-end integrated graphics notebook for mobility (about $500) and a high-end gaming desktop for power (about $1500) than it is to get a high-end dedicated graphics notebook ($2000) and a docking station ($200). The desktop can be heavily upgraded and modified, the laptop cannot. Laptops also have a higher rate of failure (20&#37 and damage/theft/destruction than desktops.
__________________

__________________
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.