quick qeustion - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2007, 02:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default quick qeustion

how come my friends laptop which has a 1.6Ghz turion x2 and i have a athlon 3800+ but my desktop is 5x faster than his dual core laptop?
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 02:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: quick qeustion

Hello,

You mean, literally 5x faster? And what do you mean by faster...?
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 02:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: quick qeustion

well know that was just me exagerating, but i mean his runs vista premium like mine but his takes about 1min to get to the logon screen wereas mine takes about 40 seconds, then his is ridiculously slow loading up apps like my computer and installing programs
Nick is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 03:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: quick qeustion

probably has less ram. what is in yours and his? also could be a slower hdd interface, like if he had ide, and you had sata or scsi.

or it could be in powersave mode which makes it downclock to save battery and create less heat. (which makes it run slower, but it should kick back up to full when it needs it)
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saving Quick Launch Icons cliffhucker Microsoft Windows and Software 6 06-25-2007 07:37 PM
Very quick question my friends psychedelos New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-13-2007 03:00 PM
I cannot post a quick reply siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-25-2007 01:07 AM
quick and easiest way to learn visual basic.net? maxima2k2 Programming 2 05-22-2007 08:46 AM
Quick question sailpog New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-11-2007 11:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.