Question about RAID - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2009, 05:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Default Question about RAID

I just bought a G71GX-A2 and it comes with 2x 320gb hard drives unraided. I was wondering if I could possibly put it in RAID 0 configuration?
__________________

LostSoul is offline  
Old 11-16-2009, 07:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: Question about RAID

The first thing you have to check is if the laptop has a raid controller. According to the specifications I don't think it has a raid controller so the answer will be no.
__________________

__________________

ASUS P5P77D :: INTEL i5 750@3.6 GHz :: Asus HD4890 :: 4GB Gskill Ripjaw 1600MHz CL7 :: WD Black 1TB :: SSD OCZ Vertex2 60GB :: Corsair 750TX :: LG L204WT :: Windows 7 x64

<<<<<<<<<< If you think I've been helpful in anyway rep me :p
farinha is offline  
Old 11-16-2009, 09:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Question about RAID

Well I looked it up and my laptop does have a RAID controller, but the raid option to enable it isn't showing up in my BIOS. I have 82801JR (ICH10R) Motherboard. =/
LostSoul is offline  
Old 11-17-2009, 03:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Question about RAID

RAID 0 on a laptop. You are playing with fire with your data. All it takes is one of your hard drive to go and you have lost the lot.
I have seen some Laptops with RAID1.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 11-17-2009, 05:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Question about RAID

:S I'm willing to take the risk. lol No answers anyone?
LostSoul is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAID Controller vs BIOS RAID and JBOD Question Antec-User Overclocking and Modding 0 08-29-2009 10:15 AM
COD WAW in 2 weeks Dauntae PC Gaming 8 10-27-2008 04:18 PM
Raid Hard Drive Question RobertXYZ System Upgrades 6 01-04-2008 09:00 AM
Boot order question AceWriter System Upgrades 0 10-13-2007 12:29 PM
RAID question Goped79 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-25-2007 11:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.