Problems with my Toshiba Satellite A665 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2014, 07:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 2
Default Problems with my Toshiba Satellite A665

Okay so I've had this laptop for awhile now, I found it under my bed and I tried turning it on to see if it worked properly but it didn't.

Problem: Extremely slow (even loads when just clicking on the screen)

I'm no computer genius but I do know a little bit from the computer classes I took in highschool. I also just enrolled to get my associate degree in networking.

I THINK it could either be the hard drive (I was reading somewhere that the hard drive could cause it to slow down). I also heard I may need new RAM. Last but not least it does not have antivirus so it could just have tons of viruses on it.

Just curious what you guys/girls think.

Thanks in advance.
__________________

Cameron54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 08:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Problems with my Toshiba Satellite A665

How much RAM does it have in it?

You could try running a chkdsk on it:

Start -> type 'cmd' (without quotes) -> right click -> run as admin -> in the console window that pops up type:
chkdsk C: /f /r
Press Enter and it will say it cannot lock the current drive and to run on next reboot. Type Y and hit Enter -> Reboot your computer and let it run through the check (it may take some time, depending on how big your HDD is).
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 10:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 2
Default Re: Problems with my Toshiba Satellite A665

I have two (2 gb) so 4 gigabytes of RAM total. I'll check on the thing you told me to try as well. Thanks!
Cameron54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with LCD Toshiba satellite A205 Joserod72 Laptops and Notebooks 3 03-10-2010 05:03 PM
Toshiba Satellite pro CDT440 screen rhino666 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 11-15-2005 10:21 PM
Toshiba Satellite Pro 4600 error nunners Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 08-31-2004 09:23 PM
Toshiba satellite pro 4600 error nunners Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 08-31-2004 03:18 PM
Toshiba Satellite CPearce9 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 01-22-2004 05:51 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.