Problem using Acer Recovery CDs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2009, 09:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Default Problem using Acer Recovery CDs

So I've got this laptop from a friend, and Windows XP is pretty much pooped on it. I've got 4 CDs, one System CD and 3 Recovery CDs. All unopened.

I boot from the System CD, and it asks for the other three, one at a time. After the 3rd CD, it asks for another, "SCD Disk 1" or something, and I assume it's the original CD again, the System CD. But when I put that it, it starts over again, wiping the drive and asking for the other 3 CDs.

I don't know what to do!!

Anyone have an idea? Anyone successfully used the Recovery CDs? I'm pulling my hair out here!!

Thanks in advance
__________________

squashynose is offline  
Old 05-02-2009, 12:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Problem using Acer Recovery CDs

Hello,

When it asks for 'SCD Disc 1', try inserting the 1st recovery disc (note: not the system disc) and see if it works. Post back.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-04-2009, 08:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Problem using Acer Recovery CDs

Quote:
Originally Posted by squashynose View Post
Anyone have an idea? Anyone successfully used the Recovery CDs? I'm pulling my hair out here!!
Acer Recovery CDs in my books have a bad habit of not working.

If you have a windows cd that you can use. This copy need to be the same version that is on your notebook. Just use the OEM Number that is on the bottom of the notebook when windows installation askes for it.

Then after windows as fininshed installing, go to the Acer Europe Website and download the drivers from there.

Reason I suggest the EU website is that they drivers there are most up todate and they have all models coveed. I have found lots of problems and missing or old files on other Acer websites.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-04-2009, 10:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Problem using Acer Recovery CDs

Just one of the many reasons I can't stand Acers. Even their recovery discs have a habit of not working. You have a better chance of cloning yourself if you try to get a replacement set from Acer US support.

KC is right on about the EU website, Europe is a bigger market for them and the drivers on there (for whatever reason) are more plentiful and kept up to date better than the US site.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 06:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Problem using Acer Recovery CDs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jorsoft View Post
Just one of the many reasons I can't stand Acers. Even their recovery discs have a habit of not working. You have a better chance of cloning yourself if you try to get a replacement set from Acer US support.
I have seem some acer ecovery cds from acer that requires you to use the Acer Empowering Software. Therefore, if your operating system is still working, then you can use your recovery discs. Otherwise, you are stuffed.

You can imagine the phone conversation that I had with that support rep on that issue.
KC :- So what you are telling me that if my I can still boot into windows and use the acer recovery tool, then I can re-install windows.
Acer :- Yes
KC :- What if the hard drive has crash?
Acer :- Then you will not be able to use the acer recovery tool.
KC :- (facepalm.jpg)
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 11:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Problem using Acer Recovery CDs

I can't say I've seen that but sweet lord almighty!!!! That is a lot of fail, really defeats the purpose lol.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 05:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 35
Send a message via MSN to FrozenSilent
Default Re: Problem using Acer Recovery CDs

I'd do a fresh windows install, I don't like recovery CD's, sometimes they install stuff that you don't need or they stuff up
FrozenSilent is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 05:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Problem using Acer Recovery CDs

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrozenSilent View Post
I'd do a fresh windows install, I don't like recovery CD's, sometimes they install stuff that you don't need or they stuff up
Yes. Acer has a bad habit of going crazy with bloatware.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 11:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Problem using Acer Recovery CDs

Use this to get rid of that bloat.

Click Me
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot CD's are being ignored DummyTron Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-29-2008 08:24 PM
Sager Notebook Battery Problem NickFas Laptops and Notebooks 4 12-08-2008 02:17 PM
Help! System Recovery Issue Aarinak Microsoft Windows and Software 4 11-24-2008 07:02 PM
Problem with 3D graphics mordi05 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 12-10-2007 11:37 PM
Windows Installation Problem ksmarks Microsoft Windows and Software 0 07-07-2007 04:06 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.