Possible to upgrade laptop component? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2008, 12:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Question Possible to upgrade laptop component?

I own an HP dv9812us notebook.
In short, the video card does not cut it for even the simplest of games. I installed diablo 2 thinking it was a game created years ago and it should run smooth, but it still runs like crap on this system.

I wasn't expecting a major gaming platform, but not being able to play games that were made 6 years ago is ridiculous.

Is it possible to upgrade this component or otherwise make it run better?
-JP
__________________

JPlanck is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 09:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Possible to upgrade laptop component?

Check the RAM. Usually that is what manf. short you on, so if you have only 512 mb or RAM you don't be able to do much. I would first check your system to see how much you have. Then check the manf. website to see what the maximum is for your system.

Try that first, cheapest way to upgrade your system. Then from there we can double check your options.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 11:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Possible to upgrade laptop component?

I work on laptops everyday and that laptop does not have a video card in it. The video is built onto the motherboard. Like lexluethar said you should check your ram and see what you have available and check the requirements of diablo 2. Blizzard Entertainment
ngreenwood6 is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 11:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Possible to upgrade laptop component?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ngreenwood6 View Post
I work on laptops everyday and that laptop does not have a video card in it. The video is built onto the motherboard. Like lexluethar said you should check your ram and see what you have available and check the requirements of diablo 2. Blizzard Entertainment
Which brings up the other option - you can upgrade your laptop, but usually most components are built into the motherboard, and most motherboards are tailor fitted to that specific models case enclosure. So while it is possible to upgrade 9 times out of 10 (with the exception of RAM) upgrading a laptop isn't economical and should just be replaced.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 09:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 41
Default Re: Possible to upgrade laptop component?

Yes indeed, I don't think it worth while for you to upgrade your laptop.
grasswater is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 11:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Possible to upgrade laptop component?

I have a dv9000 as well and was able to get an Nvidia GeForce 8600M GS in mine, a very competent card capable of everything but maybe Crysis. If yours is an older model (mine's a dv9700t, brand new Core 2 Duo system), it may not have dedicated graphics, but the only options when I got mine were 8400M GS or 8600M GS. What graphics card does yours have, as it may need drivers and such?
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 08:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Possible to upgrade laptop component?

According to HP's site you should have a geforce go 7150m, on par with every other integrated notebook gpu. No reason you shouldn't be able to run low end games fine, I think the problem may be another culprit. Have you updated/patched Diablo 2 properly? And what exactly is the performance issue you're hitting? It could be related to outdated game version, not enough free memory, or just a fragmented hard drive. New video drivers could also help although this may not even be video related.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need a new laptop - here is what I'm looking at: Aro2220 Laptops and Notebooks 5 09-21-2008 01:26 PM
XP PC networked with Vista laptop mnelson07 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 08-06-2007 06:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.