Is it possible to swap out the graphics card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2007, 10:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Is it possible to swap out the graphics card?

Not that I plan to... but I was just reading some of Vista's minimal requirements in comparison to what my laptop has. The video card is 128mb with up to 319mb shared memory. I was just curious if you're dating enough if you can crack open the laptop and drop in a compact 256mb one later on down the road or something.

Just a random question.
__________________

__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 10:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Is it possible to swap out the graphics card?

I don't think you can.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 10:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Is it possible to swap out the graphics card?

Well that's kind of stupid that they package computers with the lowest possible minimum requirements to run the **** operating system.

This is why I love linux. I hope they get support for my sound card asap so I don't have to worry about maxing out system resources by opening windows explorer.
__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 10:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 222
Default Re: Is it possible to swap out the graphics card?

It's possible, but quite a bit more complicated with laptops. It's not just a compatibilty issue with the machine... it's a physical one too. For desktops, video cards almost universally have a defined, rectangular shape, whereas laptops tend to have varying shapes and masses, causing an issue of actually fitting it into a different laptop.

For example, this is what a radeon 9600 mobilty looks like:

http://www.bay-wolf.com/video_M10/video1c.jpg

While here is the 9800:

http://www.xxp-design.ru/include/sho...sp?ImageId=572
__________________
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...odifiedsig.jpg
www.earthcity.us
Become a citizen. Live the legend.
Cerulean is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 01:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Is it possible to swap out the graphics card?

I'm just talking from the standpoint of expanding the overall size of the video memory available, at least. Can you adjust it in BIOS or something so your system shares more memory to video? Or are you stuck with the predefined limit?

But if you'd be able to upgrade the video card, that'd be cool too. Like say you have 2 identical cards, one with 128mb dedicated, another with 256mb dedicated... be kind of cool to upgrade to the 256 if you needed it.

But like I said, mine is 128mb dedicated with up to 319mb shared. Can I adjust the 319 to a higher limit? Or is it stuck there?
__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 12:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Is it possible to swap out the graphics card?

Just curious... this can apply to graphics cards, but also other things as well. Is there some kind of site out there, like a newegg style site, that deals primarily with replacement parts for laptops? Like, for example, new keyboards, lcds, bezels, graphics cards!!, etc

Now that I have a laptop I'm just digging for references to sites that may help out with things.
__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 04:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Is it possible to swap out the graphics card?

Easy things to upgrade are:

Harddrive
Ram
Battery
Optical drive

Some knowledge needed for

Cpu
keyboard (small fiddly wires which are easy to break)
Monitor

hard end of the scale to replace

Motherboard
Graphics card

If you upgrade your laptop yourself then you are likely to lose your warranty
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 06:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Is it possible to swap out the graphics card?

I guess realistically what spooked me was my graphics card is 128mb dedicated and up to 319mb shared video memory... yet Vista calls for 128mb minimal graphics memory. I just thought I'd check into whether or not it was possible to upgrade.

I mean granted I got this laptop with intention of using it for school work, music, some music videos, and pictures... but now that I've got it, there's a few games out there that are appealing to me. I just didn't want this sucker to become outdated 4x quicker than the other ones on the market due to the fact I'm already running the minimum for graphics memory.

Can I change the 319mb shared limit to something higher, like 512mb?
__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 11:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 222
Default Re: Is it possible to swap out the graphics card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayce View Post
I guess realistically what spooked me was my graphics card is 128mb dedicated and up to 319mb shared video memory... yet Vista calls for 128mb minimal graphics memory. I just thought I'd check into whether or not it was possible to upgrade.

I mean granted I got this laptop with intention of using it for school work, music, some music videos, and pictures... but now that I've got it, there's a few games out there that are appealing to me. I just didn't want this sucker to become outdated 4x quicker than the other ones on the market due to the fact I'm already running the minimum for graphics memory.

Can I change the 319mb shared limit to something higher, like 512mb?

Not that I know of.
__________________

__________________
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...odifiedsig.jpg
www.earthcity.us
Become a citizen. Live the legend.
Cerulean is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics card problems (?) TommyGun Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-28-2007 09:53 AM
Graphics card upgrade TFB New Systems | Building and Buying 29 12-01-2007 12:09 PM
WTB/WTT for a good graphics card jordo_99 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 11 10-02-2007 10:49 AM
Won't go onto Windows Logon or Accounts through graphics card, but will on shared gfx Linked Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-28-2007 09:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.