possible to build a laptop? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2007, 07:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default possible to build a laptop?

is it possible? Would it be like desktops, cost less, and run better?
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 07:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: possible to build a laptop?

You can buy barebones notebooks from MSI and Asus and then buy parts like the processor, ram, and hard drive, but it usually costs more to do it that way than buying it preassembled and it's not nearly as easy to do. Building your own desktop is much easier--laptops are a lot more challenging and usually more expensive anyways.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 08:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: possible to build a laptop?

Thanks, it may be more expansive, but i'll look into it.
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 11:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: possible to build a laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorsoft03 View Post
You can buy barebones notebooks from MSI and Asus and then buy parts like the processor, ram, and hard drive, but it usually costs more to do it that way than buying it preassembled and it's not nearly as easy to do. Building your own desktop is much easier--laptops are a lot more challenging and usually more expensive anyways.
desktop = 30 min
laptop = 5 min (6 if you never used a screwdriver before)

therefore desktops ARE OBVIOUSLY EASIER TO BUILD THAN laptops

Buy Discount Laptop Computer-Notebook Computer Portable PC Tablet PC PDA Palm Cheap Battery Used-Best Computer Online Store Houston Buy Discount Prices Texas-Directron.com try this site scrublets =P
__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 11:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: possible to build a laptop?

just buy a good asus one....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 12:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default Re: possible to build a laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by decibaL View Post
desktop = 30 min
laptop = 5 min (6 if you never used a screwdriver before)
um, don't think so. A desktop is easy to build, all you have to do is plug everything in and you have as much space as you need. but, with a laptop you are working in a very confined space and everything has to fit perfectly. It takes much more time to align the parts.
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 12:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: possible to build a laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kfc469 View Post
um, don't think so. A desktop is easy to build, all you have to do is plug everything in and you have as much space as you need. but, with a laptop you are working in a very confined space and everything has to fit perfectly. It takes much more time to align the parts.
i guarantee i can build a laptop faster than you can put together a desktop, everything is in a very confined space therefore pieces fit exactly into place, no second guessing and i built dozens of both so dont start
__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 01:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: possible to build a laptop?

lets.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 01:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default Re: possible to build a laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by decibaL View Post
i built dozens of both so dont start
which is exactly why your can do it so quickly. But, for someone whos never built a laptop before, don't you think a desktop would be easier?
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 01:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: possible to build a laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kfc469 View Post
which is exactly why your can do it so quickly. But, for someone whos never built a laptop before, don't you think a desktop would be easier?
not really
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto shut down of laptop due to cpu overheating advancedgeek Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-01-2007 10:23 AM
Gaming Laptop...? Trepkos New Systems | Building and Buying 21 04-20-2007 02:47 AM
Company Makes Million Dollar Laptop Osiris Off Topic Discussion 0 03-26-2007 07:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.