Noob Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 04-25-2010, 07:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default Noob Help

Hey Guys and Gals of Tech-Forums,

As you can tell by my post count, I'm a noobie in this forum. As well, I'm a complete computer noob. So I just wanted to say hi and to apologize of my complete lack of knowledge. So bear with me. Well, here it goes...

Basically, my old compaq laptop P.O.S. is horrible. After 2 years old its slowly breaking down. Finally, after many hours trying to convince my parents, they have agreed to get me a new laptop. Basically, whatever I save up, they agreed to match, so I'm probably going to be looking into something in the $800 dollar range in the end. Basically, after that point, I've got nothing. I have no idea what to look for in a computer. So that's where you guys come in. You seemed to be a pretty helpful bunch and not a group of 10 year old forum trolls.

Here's a list of what I'm looking for:
1) Webcam
2) Can play some games (specifically Age of Empires/ possibly starcraft 2)
3) Good battery life
4) Beyond that, who knows (I sure don't )

So, I'd really appreciate it if you guys could give me some guidance on what I should look for. (Brand, processor speed, I7 Processor???, Windows vs MAC, screen size etc.)

Thanks, and if this is out of place, I'm sorry, and if I'm on the completely wrong forum, sorry again. Just let me know.

Old 04-25-2010, 08:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description

Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Noob Help

You're fine, dog. Welcome to TF!

For brand, I'd suggest ASUS or Toshiba. Both good names as well as performance.

Battery life depends on what components you have, but most batteries last at least 5 hours.

The i7 might go over your budget. i5 should do you good. That line is Intel processors. I'm not sure of the latest laptop cores, though.