No HDD detected? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2010, 12:32 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 162
Default Re: No HDD detected?

you want to go to the hard drive manufacturer's website. IE western digital, seagate, hitatchi, etc.
__________________

__________________
There are 10 types of people in this world. People who understand binary and people who don't.
DBB2010 is offline  
Old 03-31-2010, 03:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Re: No HDD detected?

I went to the hitachi site and it said there are no drivers needed. They are preinstalled..

Should I get a chipset driver from Acer?
__________________

__________________
Antec 300
MSi P67A-C43
Intel Core i5-2500k
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (DDR3 1600) Ram
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
eVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB SC
Acer G235H 23" LCD (1920x1080)
Corsair TX750
Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Skiller. is offline  
Old 03-31-2010, 06:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Re: No HDD detected?

I'm at a loss with this...I tried putting some drivers on my XP disc using nlite, but it wouldn't let me. Said it needed i386 or AMD64 files or something
__________________
Antec 300
MSi P67A-C43
Intel Core i5-2500k
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (DDR3 1600) Ram
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
eVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB SC
Acer G235H 23" LCD (1920x1080)
Corsair TX750
Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Skiller. is offline  
Old 03-31-2010, 06:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 162
Default Re: No HDD detected?

can you find the exact error and post it?
__________________
There are 10 types of people in this world. People who understand binary and people who don't.
DBB2010 is offline  
Old 04-01-2010, 08:56 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Re: No HDD detected?

There is no error, it was just telling me that no hard drives were detected.

I solved the problem anyway; I changed the SATA settings in BIOS from AHCI to IDE.

Thanks for your help, though.
__________________

__________________
Antec 300
MSi P67A-C43
Intel Core i5-2500k
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (DDR3 1600) Ram
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
eVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB SC
Acer G235H 23" LCD (1920x1080)
Corsair TX750
Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Skiller. is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please analyze my hijacklog. mingming12 HijackThis Logs (finished) 49 11-20-2009 11:24 PM
some type of worm or something? randyjcrouse Viruses, Spyware and Malware 18 09-25-2009 04:08 PM
Sata HDD not detected. 24kobe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 05-29-2009 10:30 PM
Ext Hdd does not get detected krazyq Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 04-14-2008 02:48 PM
crashing pc daz6215 Overclocking and Modding 6 02-29-2008 12:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.