new to vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2008, 05:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Default new to vista

Hi'
I just bought a Dell Inspirion 1420 for travel and it has 2 Gig dual core processor, 120 G HD, 1 G ram and VISTA which makes it a bit slower. I've already disabled indexing, aero, and basically made the gui look like XP again (adjusted for best performance, classic start menu, etc) - I also removed or deleted the backup partition. anything else I can do to tweak this laptop so it screams?? Thanks!
__________________

hotwired is offline  
Old 06-22-2008, 05:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: new to vista

Hello,

Windows Vista Tweaks - Google Search

Most of the tweaks out there are available through Google. Just have to search till you find ones you like.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-22-2008, 09:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: new to vista

I'm running a version of Vista Home Premium SP1 that I created with vLite 1.1. Cutting out most of Vista's bloat sped things out a lot. Use a good defrag program like Perfectdisk that defragments the hd using the data collected by Vista's prefetcher will help. It doesn't hurt to to have a 7200 rpm hd also.

Always install the latest versions of software rather than install whatever version you have on hand and then update. Getting rid of the useless crap that Dell pre-installs on new computers will help speed things up also. You'd be surprised on how much junk is running in the background.

As mush as Vista tries to accommodate older programs. There are some programs that just won't work well in Vista. You'll have to live with the consequences if you insist on running them.

Adding another gig of ram will help.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 06-22-2008, 01:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: new to vista

I thought I'd have problems with Vista, but it is fast on my new laptop. My friend has a 1420 with lower specs than yours (1.8GHz I think) and he never had any problems using Aero and virus scanning and firewall and all sorts of background stuff. My laptop has a 5400RPM hard drive and doesn't have any problems.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xp and vista solidsteve Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-05-2008 08:35 PM
Microsoft offers a Vista two-for deal Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 8 01-01-2008 04:17 PM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 09:37 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.