New Screen? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2009, 09:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default New Screen?

I killed the screen on my other toshiba! anyone know where I can get a replacement? I cracked it, shut a pen in it! the crack runs from the top right corner *major leaking there* down to the lower left, so yeah, totally inoperable with that screen. I know basically how to replace it, just need to find one.
__________________

__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 11-02-2009, 10:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: New Screen?

Ebay would be your best bet. Either purchase a cheap one that doesn't work (in terms of not turning on but the screen works) or possibly run into someone that is parting one out.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 12:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default Re: New Screen?

I know at work we buy a lot of our LCDs from SmartMicroUSA.com: Your Shop for Replacement LCD Screens Low Cost, Notebook LCD Repair and More since we prefer to not use eBay unless we have too. Most of the time they have what we need at a reasonable price.
__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 12:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: New Screen?

ok diceman, thanks for the link. prices are high, but cheaper than getting a new lappy, and I believe my other satellite to be worth it. I have one question, however. I bought the lappy second hand, so I don't have specs, esp not on the exact screen size and type. how do I tell? I know it's a glossy, it's a 15.4 *I think* wide screen, I know in searching for desktop backgrounds it was an odd resolution, one that not many people use. I know, this has a lil to do with graphics card, but it's also in the screen size and native drivers. wow, to much info there, but bottom line, how do I tell which screen exactly that I need?
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 08:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default Re: New Screen?

For SmartMicro you would have to acutally remove the LCD and check for a model number. I find that most of the LCDs we have bought at work (largely for Apple laptops) are $2-300 which in my opinion is not bad. Heck, the last time I had to get an LCD from Lenovo it ran me $500 for an ultra fragile 13"
__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 09:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: New Screen?

When I replaced a friend's satellite laptop screen, I looked up the model number of the laptop, searched it on ebay, and got that series' screen. I got it from this seller: Laptop LCD Screen Store (Laptop LCD Screen Specialists. Bliss Computers 201-442-0091) and it was ~$100 + shipping (around $10). So pretty good priced, and it was a new screen as well.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Set Different Screen Resolutions For Every User Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 08-21-2009 08:40 AM
Windows Screen Shots Software Screenie Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 5 07-19-2009 07:21 PM
Giveaway of the Day - Extra Screen Capture Pro Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 06-14-2009 01:02 PM
Windows won't install (blue screen - virus) kenny536 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 03-15-2009 04:51 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.