New Laptop- will downgrade work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2009, 10:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 139
Default New Laptop- will downgrade work?

I just bought this Gateway laptop which come pre-installed with Vista Home Premium. - Gateway T-6345U NoteBook Intel Pentium dual-core T3400(2.16GHz) 14.1" Wide XGA 2GB Memory DDR2 667 250GB HDD 5400rpm DVD Super Multi Intel GMA X3100 - Laptops / Notebooks
Due to online classes I am taking and just because I like it better, I want to install XP Pro SP3 on the machine when it is shipped. I already have a new XP Pro SP3 disk. I'm just wondering if there may be any issues downgrading to XP Pro. I've searched this site and can't find any major problems. I just wanted to get a headstart on any possible problems before the laptop arrives.

gospel is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 12:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: New Laptop- will downgrade work?

Have you checked the Gateway site to make sure that they will have drivers for all the components for XP?

Moved to Laptop area.

I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 08:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Jorsoft's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: New Laptop- will downgrade work?

Finding drivers for Vista laptops can be a pain. You'll have to check Gateway's site and see if they have them available for download. If they do, it should work just fine. But often manufacturers will have only a few available or none at all. HP seems to be hit and miss, Dell has been really good about it in my experience. I don't know about Gateway but they're usually not too strong on the driver side of things so it wouldn't surprise me if they didn't have anything available. There's only one way to find out, though!
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 04-25-2009, 10:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 139
Default Re: New Laptop- will downgrade work?

What about going dual boot?. I only need XP Pro because of school. I am working on my network specialist degree and all the activities involve XP Pro. If the networking configurations are the same in Vista I would be alright to stick with Vista. I still have my XP Pro desktop, but the laptop was going to make it easier on me to do school work. Most of the activities consist of doing network configurations and using print screens to show your work.
gospel is offline  
Old 04-25-2009, 02:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Hefemeister's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: New Laptop- will downgrade work?

How about running a VM?
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 04-26-2009, 08:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 139
Default Re: New Laptop- will downgrade work?

Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
How about running a VM?
This thought crossed my mind. Is this available in all versions of Vista (the laptop I ordered comes with Home Premium). Do you know of a link that gives instructions for VM?
gospel is offline  
Old 04-26-2009, 03:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
Dumpy's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 183
Default Re: New Laptop- will downgrade work?

i did this with an acer laptop not long ago i found xp ran slower then vista did for some reason, that was just me.. but when i did it i dont know about yours tho, i had to go into the BIOS and change it so that it seen IDE because XP couldn't find the hd.

Gateway Support - Drivers, Software and Firmware Updates

you need your serial number to check for drives, as far as i can tell lol. just when you get it go there and type it in and check it out

AMD Phenom II X2 555 B.E @ 4.0 Ghz
Asus M4A88T -M/USB3
8 Gigs G-Skill Ripjaw DDR3
CM Storm Scout Tower
(1) 500 GB HD, (1) 300 GB HD
Corsair CX500

Like my Sig?
I'll make ya one ;)
Dumpy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toshiba Laptop Harddrive Failing: How to Clone? GoodNews101 Microsoft Windows and Software 8 01-30-2009 08:26 AM
Laptop Work Done dykzeulb Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 03-31-2008 10:50 AM
Help transfering harddrive contents on a non working laptop into the new laptop vickysmalls Laptops and Notebooks 5 07-25-2007 10:04 AM
Burned by a MacBook Osiris Apple and Mac 8 07-23-2007 08:51 PM
Sandisk memory card will not work in my laptop , but i have the slot for it???? chaznad Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 03-26-2007 07:10 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.