New laptop! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2008, 11:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default New laptop!

Hello TF, it's been a loong time

So yeah... I have a sony vaio laptop (dad's), and it started to not turn on, so my dad came to me with it, and I opened it up to reset the cmos (never found the battery...), and I told him we needed a new one. So we went out and bought a Toshiba Satellite a305. This thing is amazing. All for 630 with tax we got:

Core 2 Duo t7250 (I think), 2 ghz, 2mb cache, and I think 800mhz FSB
3GB ram
Vista of course
Intel X3100 onboard gfx (surprisingly alright, so I've heard...)
Probably the best laptop speakers I've ever had
15.4" screen (it's alright, though. Colors are vibrant, and screen is bright)
ect ect

but yeah, here's some pics

http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x...4/DSC07675.jpg
http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x...4/DSC07676.jpg

It's pretty light, too. It's like 5 pounds, I think.

So yea. I know there are better laptops, but 600 dollars. That's good, in my opinion.
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 11-01-2008, 11:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: New laptop!

nice. yeah those are pretty slick laptops. circuit city had a sale on a really nice lenovo for like 580 last week :/

only thing is toshiba's run hot.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 11-01-2008, 11:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: New laptop!

This thing's running pretty cool. It's got a bar on the bottom, so it's angled, so there's better circulation. Oh well, you're probably still right. I still love it... I want to install HL2 and a few other games on it. I'm pretty sure I can play them on low/med at a lowish resolution.

Also, is my dad wanted to "confirm" that I was right about the vaio, and took it to a computer store (They're idiots, my friend said he worked there before and they just format everything...), and they said it was broken. We got it back, I reset the bios, and it's working.
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 07:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: New laptop!

Higher level service like that is beyond most Geek Squad-esque tech shops. They just blame it on the mobo usually. When I worked at Fire Dog it blew people's minds when I took stuff apart (gasp!) and checked internal connections, cmos, etc.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 11:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: New laptop!

I don't know what itis .... It will tgurn on 1/20 of the times.... and when it does, it works perfect. When it doesn't, it freezes at the POST screen. It's not overheating (the monitor is very very hot, though), so I don't know what it is.

I can't find the CMOS battery on it... I opened it up and looked for it. There wasn't one...
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have You Ever Built a Laptop Sleeve Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 09-27-2008 11:28 AM
XP PC networked with Vista laptop mnelson07 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 08-06-2007 06:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.