Need some assistance with my Acer Aspire 3500 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2012, 03:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: California
Posts: 27
Smile Need some assistance with my Acer Aspire 3500

Hi everybody this is an old laptop and was wondering on how to fix it or do or is it that is just mess up but when I turn it on the acer logo is too big that it won't fit and on the bottom, it tells me to press <F2> to enter setup but it never does, and I tried the Alt+F10 but nothing happens. So if anybody could tell me whats wrong. Thanks in advance.
__________________

hobby_guy is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 04:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Need some assistance with my Acer Aspire 3500

What do you mean by it won't fit? In CMOS, it's supposed be a very small size. Just expands to your screen size. Might be a loose fitting with the video cable or something.

Have you tried F1 or Delete? While they say F1, there is usually an alternative. If you know how to take the keyboard out, I would make sure the keyboard cable is connected well. Might just be that the keyboard is bad. Also might want to check with an external USB keyboard, see if it works fine.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-21-2012, 01:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: California
Posts: 27
Default Re: Need some assistance with my Acer Aspire 3500

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
What do you mean by it won't fit? In CMOS, it's supposed be a very small size. Just expands to your screen size. Might be a loose fitting with the video cable or something.

Have you tried F1 or Delete? While they say F1, there is usually an alternative. If you know how to take the keyboard out, I would make sure the keyboard cable is connected well. Might just be that the keyboard is bad. Also might want to check with an external USB keyboard, see if it works fine.
I wouldn't want to open the laptop but I would say the keyboard works cause it only gives me the opinion to choose a button and that is the F2 and when I press it it works but it just stay in waiting mode, and about the acer logo not sure how to describe it but it has a white back ground with the blue letter and I could only see the ace in the bottom right but in big size.
hobby_guy is offline  
Old 03-21-2012, 09:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Need some assistance with my Acer Aspire 3500

Can you get a picture of it? Does it ever go into Windows? What happens when you press escape? Should bring POST text up, not the Acer picture.

Try using an external keyboard as I said above.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-27-2012, 11:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Need some assistance with my Acer Aspire 3500

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Can you get a picture of it? Does it ever go into Windows? What happens when you press escape? Should bring POST text up, not the Acer picture.

Try using an external keyboard as I said above.
Hello, and being busy but I just started trying to do something and put the recovery disc and was able to restart everything, but thank you for your help. Wait I don't know if you know what could be wrong with my desktop is a Dell Optiplex GX 260 running window xp sp 3 and just recently started being slow and I deleted the temporary files did the disk clean up but its still slow, and never had that problem before. Well thank you for your help again MindoverMaster.
hobbyguy is offline  
Old 04-27-2012, 11:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Need some assistance with my Acer Aspire 3500

Might want to post this in the Windows software forum. You'll get more help there.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acer Aspire 4820 HELP! TheHumanComputer Laptops and Notebooks 2 06-26-2011 03:58 PM
Need Help badly for my Acer Aspire Decka Laptops and Notebooks 3 03-18-2011 04:35 PM
Acer Aspire Predator SubFusion Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 08-20-2009 03:47 PM
Acer Aspire 4520 ClayKann101 Laptops and Notebooks 6 04-05-2009 07:01 PM
I am getting an Acer Aspire One Harper Laptops and Notebooks 14 12-11-2008 04:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.