Need a New Powersupply - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2010, 12:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Need a New Powersupply

Mom's laptop works fine on the docking station, but not plugged in. So took a voltmeter to the cord from the powersupply and it's iffy, when you bend it changes around. Told her I could just cut it off and get a new plug but she just wants a new one.

Problem is I'm having troubles finding one in canada. There's a store here but its $100 and will take "a week or two" to get here which is a bit too long. Anyways its an HP Compaq nc8430.

Found one good site but it was based in the UK and didn't have any express shipping option so that would've taken a while as well. HP Compaq nc8430 AC Adapter|nc8430 Charger/Power Supply and that looks like the right one.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 03-20-2010, 12:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Need a New Powersupply

Did you try the manufacturer? HP in this case? They should be able to help you.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-20-2010, 12:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,024
Default Re: Need a New Powersupply

Would the Canadian NewEgg site work? Not sure of the shipping / cost, but it's worth a try.
__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline  
Old 03-20-2010, 01:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Need a New Powersupply

They only have a rosewill generic one, for $50 CAD

You can look at:

www.Tigerdirect.ca
www.amazon.ca
www.ncix.com
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-20-2010, 02:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: Need a New Powersupply

Checked those sites They don't have the exact same one, but I'm guessing another one with the same watts, amps, and stuff would work fine?
__________________
dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 03-20-2010, 02:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Need a New Powersupply

HP will be about 125bucks.... i got one 2yrs ago from them.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My powersupply - Upgrade for ATI 4890 help. Optional New Systems | Building and Buying 10 11-24-2009 01:00 PM
Powersupply for Dell crapped out Tempest Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-30-2008 01:15 PM
Forced to buy HP:( need powersupply advice! swann System Upgrades 14 01-22-2008 03:26 PM
Which Powersupply is better? BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL New Systems | Building and Buying 10 12-12-2007 03:05 PM
Somthing wrong with either new Powersupply or RAM hawaiian style Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 07-02-2007 03:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.