Need a new hard drive for my Compaq Presario - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2008, 12:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 191
Default Need a new hard drive for my Compaq Presario

I've got a Presario F730US and I'm pretty sure I broke the hard drive. It makes a funny clicking sound and it won't really load anything up anymore. I can get most of the desktop but it takes a long time and I can't really click on anything and open it up.

I took out the "suspect" hard drive and it is a Toshiba HDD2D62 MK1237GSX 120GB SATA: Drive Solutions, Inc.

I'd like to go to my local CompUSA, Circuit City or Best Buy and purchase another HD to replace it and then reinstall my disc (Vista, yuck!)

I was thinking about something like this: Seagate ST9120822AS Momentus 5400.3 120GB Mobile Hard Drive - 5400, 8MB, 2.5", SATA-150 at CompUSA.com

or this: Hitachi TravelStar 5K250 120GB 5400 8MB 2.5" Mobile SATA OEM Hard Drive 0A52126 at CompUSA.com

Is there any reason why either of these hard drives wouldn't work for me? Would they give me any problems while I try to load my original System Recovery DVD that came with my Compaq notebook?

Thanks


Danny
__________________

dannyual767 is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 01:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Need a new hard drive for my Compaq Presario

You shouldn't have a problem using your Recovery DVD. Of the hard drives you listed I would go with the Seagate.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 02:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Need a new hard drive for my Compaq Presario

I agree with Puddle. Seagate are great drives. I have some from like 10 years ago that still work. The Recovery DVD will work just fine.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 02:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 191
Default Re: Need a new hard drive for my Compaq Presario

Puddle and Makaveli213, thank you for your replies. I'm just a bit nervous about this as I've never done a HD replacement but it just doesn't seem too difficult.

I'll try to get the Seagate when I go to CompUSA tomorrow. Since my original HD is a SATA, I'm assuming that the new Seagate will go right into my Compaq and then all I'll have to do is load the Recovery DVD disc.
dannyual767 is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 02:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Need a new hard drive for my Compaq Presario

Yes it will go right in after you take the old one out. Jsut connect it like the old one was connected. Then insert the DVD and it will give you the option to install the OS.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 03:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Need a new hard drive for my Compaq Presario

One thing you'll have to be aware of, though, is that there may be a little converter on the end of your existing drive. I've seen in on an IDE compaq before, and a SATA HP (and HP/COmpaq are the same company now). So you'll probably just have to pull the converter off, and pop it onto the new drive.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 04-23-2008, 03:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 191
Default Re: Need a new hard drive for my Compaq Presario

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
One thing you'll have to be aware of, though, is that there may be a little converter on the end of your existing drive. I've seen in on an IDE compaq before, and a SATA HP (and HP/COmpaq are the same company now). So you'll probably just have to pull the converter off, and pop it onto the new drive.
Yes, I've already removed it once to see what the actual HD's connecting prongs looked like. The actual prongs look like some pictures of 2.5" SATA hard drive prongs and the converter is another piece that plugs into the original prongs.
dannyual767 is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 04:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Need a new hard drive for my Compaq Presario

Yep, that's correct. Didn't know if you had taken the drive out actually, or just looked up the specs online to see what it had in it =). So I figured I'd mention it.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 04-25-2008, 09:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 191
Default Re: Need a new hard drive for my Compaq Presario

Here is an update on what I ended up doing.

First and foremost, I got my Compaq Presario up and running! In fact, I'm using it right now to make this post : .

I didn't end up buying a new HD because I had a perfectly good HD in my daughter's broken Toshiba Satellite notebook. It had a broken LCD screen but everything else worked. Yesterday, I cannibalized parts off of it to bring two laptops back from the dead!

I got my older Averatec (XP!) computer running again (see this thread: Does this sound like a Recovery CD problem?)

and I installed the Toshiba HD into this Compaq and loaded up the recovery disc. Both computers use SATA HDs with their own special connectors on the end of the HD that I had to swap.

Vista takes sooooooooo long to load. It successfully loaded and I've been using the laptop since yesterday evening.

I took three dead computers and made two good working notebooks out of them. I'm feeling super cocky about being a computer "mechanic!"
__________________

dannyual767 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
hard drive evilive138jp System Upgrades 2 10-10-2007 08:51 PM
Hard Drive, Hard times Magicman Microsoft Windows and Software 1 10-01-2007 12:35 PM
Hard Drive and Motherboard Issue Ithryndil System Upgrades 7 09-27-2007 06:56 PM
Hard drive randomly disappearing Gooms9 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 05-18-2007 08:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.