Need Help with Toshiba - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2007, 07:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
ainstushar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 88
Exclamation Need Help with Toshiba

Ok, so I have a laptop (Toshiba satellite a105). The problem with that laptop is that after i spend some time using it, it gives me an error. The texts are garbled and the program icons disappear. The start menu looks empty and the shudown dialog box becomes transparent. the text change their font and shape. Things become black. So i can't really stay on this laptop long enough to do something.

I know, it is really not an amazing description, but i receive a 12d error (in hex) sometimes and i receive "not a valid win32 app" error. I think there is a memory leak. My dad sent the laptop to fix in the company, the company charged him 80 bucks. The problem didn't get fixed and my dad was too lazy to ship it back in the company within 1 week. I do have a hardware warranty. The problem started with one of the random MS update (btw i have xp media center 2002 version with 1.6 intel R (centrino duo) and 1 gb of ram).

So the question: what should i do? is this a software problem? a hardware problem? is there any way to find out (i have run scan disk and searched on google, but nothing is coming up)? Help really appreciated.

Thank You.
__________________

ainstushar is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 11:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Need Help with Toshiba

turn it off, unplug the power cord , take out the battery/ Ram if its not onboard, and let it settle for 10 mins to clear up
Something like that happened to my Compaq 700 series where my icons started to twitch , so i just cleared up the memory and works fine
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 08:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
ainstushar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 88
Default Re: Need Help with Toshiba

I can't take out the ram because it's under warrenty (and its my dad's). So i will take out the batter for 10 mins. Should that do the trick or i have to take out the ram? the point of this is to fix it without opening, and if i know for fact that it's a hardware fault, then i can send it in the company to get a free replacement for the rams, otherwise they won't do anything.
ainstushar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toshiba Satellite a215-s4757 bios help Sargon Laptops and Notebooks 4 02-05-2009 01:40 AM
Toshiba Laptop 2.8ghz HT Processor, 512 MB Ram, Nvidia Geforce, Wireless card freedonutss Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 10 08-14-2007 03:42 AM
Toshiba Laptop Disk Space kaith83 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-12-2007 02:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.