need help with resetting BIOS on Hannstar Motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2009, 10:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mikesx4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 356
Default need help with resetting BIOS on Hannstar Motherboard

How do I reset the Bios on a hannstar motherboard? There site doesnt even show they make motherboards anymore lol WTH is this crap. And the CMOS battery is soldered down.
__________________

mikesx4911 is offline  
Old 06-13-2009, 12:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: need help with resetting BIOS on Hannstar Motherboard

I don't think Hannstar has made motherboards for a long time...I can't really find much about resetting the BIOS other than going into it and selecting "Reset to Defaults" from the menu. If you think you need a new CMOS battery you might actually just have to get your soldering iron out...

I think there's a reason they don't make this stuff any more.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 06-13-2009, 01:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mikesx4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 356
Default

yea this motherboard seems like a piece of JUNK lol

you can use a multimeter right to see if the battery is dead?
mikesx4911 is offline  
Old 06-13-2009, 01:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: need help with resetting BIOS on Hannstar Motherboard

I suppose you could, yeah. I've never done that before with a CMOS battery, though. I'm curious as to what exactly it's doing that makes you think it needs to be replaced or hard reset?
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 06-13-2009, 07:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mikesx4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 356
Default Re: need help with resetting BIOS on Hannstar Motherboard

oh I have no video, its about the same laptop, except I just decided to be more specific to the motherboard on this thread, if anyone had any experience with it. It starts I hear everything but I have no video.
mikesx4911 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
correlation between BIOS and chipset Jeroen1000 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 11-10-2008 07:07 PM
Toshiba 'BIOS password glitch' Cunjo Laptops and Notebooks 1 06-17-2008 02:14 AM
Just need help on grabbing a Motherboard Akumajin New Systems | Building and Buying 9 01-08-2008 08:36 AM
Update BIOS on older Compaq PC tonyisnt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-23-2007 11:39 PM
Long Beeps at start up freak67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2007 06:08 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.