Need Advice Fast Please !! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2008, 06:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 89
Question Need Advice Fast Please !!

Just bought a COMPAQ PRESARIO C700 FOR MY DAUGHTER FOR UNI. Has Vista Home Edition. Was setting it up for here last night, added the cpu and temp gadget to the Vista dock bar. With an idle CPU this thing says its running at 65%-70% c !!! Surely this is way too hot , even for a laptop. I have no experience with laptops and very little with Vista. Thats why i hope someone will fill me in quick so i can get it back to she shop asap. Thanks all . Brunoboy.
__________________

__________________
Main Circuit Board
Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. A8N-SLI Premium
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
Operating System System
Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
Model Processor a
2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core
128 kilobyte primary memory cache
512 kilobyte secondary memory cache
Display
Nvidia GeForce 8500 GT
n Circuit Board
Brunoboy is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 07:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Need Advice Fast Please !!

sounds like a program malfunction, download a different temp reader. Im not sure what you ment about the temp gadget but if you were messing around with the cpu it is possible u messed up the thermal paste.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 07:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 89
Default Re: Need Advice Fast Please !!

Thanks Luke, This things straight out of the box hasn't been moved from desk, etc. Haven't touched a thing except get rid of norton and put a different antivirus. Havn't been into the bios or anything . Its only 3-4 days old.
__________________
Main Circuit Board
Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. A8N-SLI Premium
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
Operating System System
Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
Model Processor a
2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core
128 kilobyte primary memory cache
512 kilobyte secondary memory cache
Display
Nvidia GeForce 8500 GT
n Circuit Board
Brunoboy is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 07:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Need Advice Fast Please !!

then i would assume it is the temp reader, try a differerent one if possible.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 07:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 89
Default Re: Need Advice Fast Please !!

Sorry false alarm. Its actually a cpu and ram reading gadget in the Vista SIDEDOCK !! The Ram meter looks like a temp meter. Sorry all !!
__________________
Main Circuit Board
Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. A8N-SLI Premium
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
Operating System System
Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
Model Processor a
2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core
128 kilobyte primary memory cache
512 kilobyte secondary memory cache
Display
Nvidia GeForce 8500 GT
n Circuit Board
Brunoboy is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 07:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 89
Default Re: Need Advice Fast Please !!

Thanks Luke ,sorry to be a bother.
__________________
Main Circuit Board
Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. A8N-SLI Premium
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
Operating System System
Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
Model Processor a
2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core
128 kilobyte primary memory cache
512 kilobyte secondary memory cache
Display
Nvidia GeForce 8500 GT
n Circuit Board
Brunoboy is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 10:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Need Advice Fast Please !!

no prob brunoboy
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 04:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Putting the X in Sapper
 
SapperX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 721
Default Re: Need Advice Fast Please !!

Haha, sorry I wasn't online when this was posted. I could tell it was ram right when I saw you put a percentage (&#37 sign after the temperature.
__________________
My Current PC-
Intel Q6600 G0 |Western Digital 250gb HD
Seagate 500gb HD | Western Digital 500gb HD | VisionTek HD4870 | 4gb Cruical Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800
850w Thermaltake PSU | Cooler Master Centurian 590 | 2x Dell 22" LCD

-900HA EEE pc
SapperX is offline  
Old 03-24-2008, 09:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 192
Default Re: Need Advice Fast Please !!

lol i thought the same thing when i fired mine up.
__________________

ClayKann101 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need monitor advice for Triple Head To-Go dalee79854 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 02-29-2008 12:07 AM
Advice on what kind of laptop to buy isaness Laptops and Notebooks 1 02-14-2008 06:15 PM
Fix For Fast Draining Zune Osiris Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 0 11-28-2007 07:34 PM
I'm building a new system between now and January - advice? Akumajin New Systems | Building and Buying 24 09-28-2007 07:41 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.