My New Laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2007, 11:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 118
Send a message via AIM to c0mmun1st4lyf3
Default My New Laptop

So today on black friday, i bought a 300 dollar laptop. Intel Celeron M with Windows Vista. It is a bit slow, but thats ok because i will be using this for school work anyways. It is 1.7gh and has 1gb ram.
Today I used it for the whole day, and it froze around 3 times already. One of them I saw the blue screen (hardware problems) which restarted the computer.
Is it a smart thing to uninstall the Vista and put XP in it?
__________________

__________________
HELP!!
c0mmun1st4lyf3 is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 12:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Putting the X in Sapper
 
SapperX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 721
Default Re: My New Laptop

Uhhh.... yea, if not linux. That laptop is wayyy underpowered to run vista at any reasonable level. I would recommend loading a linux distro... which is what I did for my laptop that has almost identical specs.
__________________

__________________
My Current PC-
Intel Q6600 G0 |Western Digital 250gb HD
Seagate 500gb HD | Western Digital 500gb HD | VisionTek HD4870 | 4gb Cruical Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800
850w Thermaltake PSU | Cooler Master Centurian 590 | 2x Dell 22" LCD

-900HA EEE pc
SapperX is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 12:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: My New Laptop

hrmm if he's fimiliar w/ linux.. go for it

if not.. i suggest you stick to xp
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 12:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: My New Laptop

I would take that sucker back if it has any type of warranty..

You think that is bad.

I have a 1.6ghz celeron M and 512mb of ram with Vista.....
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 02:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 118
Send a message via AIM to c0mmun1st4lyf3
Default Re: My New Laptop

Lol, I am just looking for a stable laptop for my college life. I don't want to play games on it... So I should change to XP?

PS. I have never used linux...
__________________
HELP!!
c0mmun1st4lyf3 is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 07:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: My New Laptop

Yea, just install XP Pro, after you make sure there are drivers available for everything on that laptop...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 08:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: My New Laptop

Ya, is it the Acer Aspire 3680 by any chance? If so, then I have already looked and there are all the needed drivers on their website.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 01:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 118
Send a message via AIM to c0mmun1st4lyf3
Default Re: My New Laptop

it is a Compaq PresarioC700. yes yes, i know...It's not very good. Everything is installed on it already.

By the way, does your laptop's fan turn on from time to time? Mine turns on for a few seconds in 2min intervals. or around 2 mins..
__________________
HELP!!
c0mmun1st4lyf3 is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 09:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default Re: My New Laptop

no, it wont be that easy to install XP, the file system in Vista and XP differs. you need to wipe clean the H/D to get XP on.

Darik's Boot and Nuke (Hard Drive Disk Wipe)

download this free utility to clean the hard drive (fairly easy process), then you will be able to install XP, else keep trying, it wont install XP.

and laptop fan turning ON few minutes is OK, as your laptop came with onboard graphics, and vista being pretty heavy on graphics, so your CPU has to do 50% of the GPU's work. and moving around XP means, graphics power needed. which puts loads on your CPU, ultimately turning on the FAN.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 05:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 118
Send a message via AIM to c0mmun1st4lyf3
Default Re: My New Laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blind_Arrow View Post
no, it wont be that easy to install XP, the file system in Vista and XP differs. you need to wipe clean the H/D to get XP on.
But what if I just format the whole HDD?
__________________

__________________
HELP!!
c0mmun1st4lyf3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spilled Soda on Laptop chickfilafan Laptops and Notebooks 5 11-16-2007 01:01 PM
XP PC networked with Vista laptop mnelson07 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 08-06-2007 06:57 AM
Help transfering harddrive contents on a non working laptop into the new laptop vickysmalls Laptops and Notebooks 5 07-25-2007 11:04 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.