My New Asus N50, where's the videocard? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2008, 05:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Default My New Asus N50, where's the videocard?

Hello guys, I got this strange problem and hope you can help me out.

Last friday (17th october) I got my Asus N50VN-FP001C (Intel c2d P8600, nvidia 9650M GS, 4GB DDR2, 320GB HDD, Blu-ray drive). I haven't really done much with it since I'm too busy with my study at the moment, but I did notice something when I unpacked it. The sticker that tells which videocard is inside it told me it contained a NVidia 9650M GT, instead of the GS that should actually be in it. So I was thrilled that there had been such a mistake (obviously :laughing, and I started computer and checked if it wasn't just a bad sticker; it wasn't, it also said 'GT' in configuration screen and everest ultimate edition.

But now I'm doubting whether I actually have a graphics card. When I open GPU-Z it gives me the following: ImageShack - Hosting :: naamlooslh5.png And at the tab 'Sensors' it says GPU core clock 169mhz / Memory clock 100mhz ...

And when I play a simple game like Warsow at high quality, it is laggy :S

Now I know that the 92xxM/93xxM/96xxM etcetera have a nvidia 9100M chip inside for power saving (and possible SLi when in Hybrid powermode), but I think that the 9100M is now active on my laptop and I don't know how to 'activate' my 9650M GT (at least, this is what I think that the problem is, maybe the 9650 isn't even there....).

All very weird Help.

daMurk is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 11:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Putting the X in Sapper
SapperX's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 721
Default Re: My New Asus N50, where's the videocard?

From what I understand, the problem could be with warsow. Try a different game. Laptop GPU's act weird sometimes in order to save power (down clock), so I would assume the problem would lie in the software.

My Current PC-
Intel Q6600 G0 |Western Digital 250gb HD
Seagate 500gb HD | Western Digital 500gb HD | VisionTek HD4870 | 4gb Cruical Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800
850w Thermaltake PSU | Cooler Master Centurian 590 | 2x Dell 22" LCD

-900HA EEE pc
SapperX is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 11:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
King X13's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default Re: My New Asus N50, where's the videocard?

When your laptop is not plugged into the wall(running off battery) It downclocks everything(cpu,gpu) like the poster above said to save power. Now they also do this sometimes even when plugged into the wall.

The way i found around this is in control panel under power settings take it off of "laptop/portable" and put it on something like desktop or always on. You should see improved performance. This will also stop your CPU from throttling up and down as you open and close programs and just leave it at its max clock speed.
King X13 is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 11:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: My New Asus N50, where's the videocard?

Well Sapper you're right I should try an other game. Maybe the combination of Vista and Warsow doesn't work out that well.

But can you explain the data that GPU-Z displays about the videocard? I mean, that MUST be from the 9100M (considering the Pixel Filrate of 1.1 Gpixel/s, that being the only point of measurement since not much more is filled in ..)

edit: King, you were right at all, apparently I only tried it when I had it unplugged from electricity. Now when it is plugged in the clocks are normal at the sensors tab .
daMurk is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 12:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: My New Asus N50, where's the videocard?

Laptop GPU's drastically underclock on low-power modes. It wouldn't surprise me that a 9600M would clock down to 169 to save power. My 8600M GS clocks down to like 200 on low power mode, though I edited it up to like 260 or so by modifying the BIOS.

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus p5q pro v. asus p5q (regular) Jtumble2 New Systems | Building and Buying 21 10-01-2008 01:14 AM
Opinions on an Asus Laptop... Blahages Laptops and Notebooks 3 07-30-2008 10:56 AM
PC Build: Which Asus motherboard? (Ordering all parts in 24hours) DJ Redrum New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-09-2008 04:59 PM
getting the Asus P5B Deluxe... pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-02-2007 12:53 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.