My Laptop's HDD keeps getting corrupted. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2008, 09:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Exclamation My Laptop's HDD keeps getting corrupted.

I recently bought a new Asus Laptop Asus - Laptop with Intel® Centrino® 2 Processor Technology - Black - G50Vt-X1

It runs everything on high settings (even crysis, in dx9 mode) without any stutter and is overall stable, aside from one thing that KEEPS happening. It always seems to happen whenever I install windows updates.(this is vista 64-bit btw)

I'll start the computer after i install the updates and it gives me a message similar to "windows failed to load because the kernel is missing or corrupt..." and I have to do a HDD wipe and install vista, all drivers etc (which all came with the recovery disk) and it works fine. This has happened about 5 times and I don't even mean for it to, because vista is sneaky and installs updates whenever i turn it off. It's ****ing me off...a LOT. All my saved games, etc keep disappearing because i have to fresh install every single time. Does anyone have any idea why this keeps happening?
__________________

BBQWingz is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 10:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: My Laptop's HDD keeps getting corrupted.

IT sounds as if one of the updates is corrupting your install. In the settings for Windows Updates make sure you choose to have them download and install when you prompt them to. Or have it tell you when updates are available and you will install them when you want.

then go thru the updates 1 by 1 and install them till you find the culprit.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 10:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: My Laptop's HDD keeps getting corrupted.

Sounds like that would work...but waste hours upon hours of my time. Unfortunately, it seems like my only option. thanks.
BBQWingz is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 10:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: My Laptop's HDD keeps getting corrupted.

Well without knowing which update is causing the problem with the system there really is no other way for us to be able to determine what the fix is.

Sadly while this is very time consuming it seems to be the best course of action. At least when you find the update at fault we can work to fix it.

Also instead of a reinstall, have you tried to use a Restore Point? Before updates are applied a Restore Point is created if you have them on. So you should be able to roll back to before the updates were applied and be able to restore you system and not have to go thru the hassle of reinstalling and losing your game data and such.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 10:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: My Laptop's HDD keeps getting corrupted.

How would I access a restore point if my OS is inaccessible (assuming it happens again)?
BBQWingz is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 11:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: My Laptop's HDD keeps getting corrupted.

Since it is Vista you can use the Vista DVD. One of the Startup Repair options is to use a Restore point.

Recovering the Vista Bootloader from the DVD - NeoSmart Technologies Wiki

In that Wiki (Yes i know it says recovering bootloader but it has pics that are easy to access for insite) you will see the 2nd picture down shows the option to use a Restore Point. That would be what you would use. If you dont have a Vista DVD cause of the manufacturer's not suppling it there is a download available thru that wiki as well. Well a link to a Recovery CD at least.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 11:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: My Laptop's HDD keeps getting corrupted.

As soon as i fugure out how to get that ISO from the link to boot automatically when it's in the disk drive on powerup, I'll try using it.

My computer came with a recovery CD, but its not the vista installation CD. It installs vista and all the drivers but it cant use the repair utility.
BBQWingz is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 11:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: My Laptop's HDD keeps getting corrupted.

You have to use a torrent download application to get it. Like ĶTorrent will do. Then just load up the torrent in that and download it. Then burn the ISO and got yourself a Recovery CD.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 11:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: My Laptop's HDD keeps getting corrupted.

Thanks a lot!

Well this basically solves my problem but um, what would have caused this in the first place? Most of my friends gaming rigs use vista and are fully updated, no problem. Is the problem most likely coming from my end or from microsoft?
BBQWingz is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 11:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: My Laptop's HDD keeps getting corrupted.

Could just be a conflict with the drivers for the hardware in your system. They might be trying to use the same IRQ or something that is causing conflicts. Without knowing the exact update it is all guess work.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD issue!! *please help me* SirCyber Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 08-23-2008 10:09 PM
How to made XP add SATA-II HDD to hardware list ? goo_lu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-23-2008 12:00 PM
C zone of IBM/Hitachi HDD SalvationDATA Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-27-2007 02:04 AM
HDD configuration with Windows XP- an odd question Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-20-2007 08:56 PM
HDD crash leo572 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-30-2007 10:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.