MSI CR600 HDMI Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2010, 05:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 16
Default MSI CR600 HDMI Problems

Hey all, have a question with my laptop's HDMI output. For some reason everytime I connect a HDMI cable from my laptop to my 32" Sharp LCD TV to try to watch something on a bigger screen, I can only seem to get video displayed on the tv and no audio at all. Now with that being said, at one time I did get both to the tv and then after an windows update I can't seem to get the audio anymore. I know all about the sound thing where you have to go to the sound options in playback and set the HDMI audio output as default. But when I do that for some reason the video through my windows media player will not play the video on either the laptop or the tv. It only says "resume".

What am I doing wrong? And how come it used to work and not anymore?

Also around the time it was working, I remembered that in the sound playback tab there were three options 1. Speakers(default), 2. Realtek HD Audio output and, 3. HDMI Audio Output.

Now all there is are the speakers and HDMI, no Realtek.

Please help.

Thanks,
Afrowookie
__________________

afrowookie is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 06:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: MSI CR600 HDMI Problems

1. What version of Windows are you using?

2. Have you checked the disabled audio devices to see if the Realtek has been disabled?

3. Have you downloaded the Realtek audio drivers? On my last laptop, I had to manually set the HDMI mode from SPDIF mode in Realtek's software, for any audio from HDMI.
__________________

__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 06:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 16
Default Re: MSI CR600 HDMI Problems

hi thanks for the reply,

I am using windows 7 ultimate 64-bit. i will check the disabled audio devices to see if the realtek is disabled and if so, i will enable it or download a new driver.

lastly did you mean change it from or to spdif mode?
afrowookie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sceptre X246W Hdmi to Hdmi PROBLEM! Drugger Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-01-2010 03:00 AM
A whole boatload of problems, please help :( Neodr31 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 09-18-2008 10:32 AM
MSI 8800GTS 512MB and MSI 9600GT for a good price at newegg maroon1 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 04-18-2008 05:18 AM
hdmi? J9Darkwing New Systems | Building and Buying 2 02-15-2008 11:57 PM
Playing in HDMI with no HDMI Plug-in dave39 Microsoft XBox 7 02-11-2008 07:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.