Monitor Output Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2010, 01:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 94
Default Monitor Output Problem

So my aunt has an old IBM Thinkpad Laptop. The monitor on it is unusable. She was hoping I would be able to salvage her files off the laptop. So I plugged in my CRT Monitor to the laptops output. During the bootup, it works fine. I get the old Win XP Login screen on the CRT monitor. But as soon as XP loads the image of the desktop goes back to the broken laptop screen and the CRT goes blank. Why does it work fine during boot but not once XP has loaded?

Thanks in advance for any help.

u4ic_fln is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 01:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Monitor Output Problem

The reason is simple. XP is not setup to use the CRT Monitor as a 2nd display device. Which is why once Windows loads it disables the CRT and goes back to the laptop Display. You can easily remove the drive from the laptop and attach it to any other PC to get the files desired. Unless you specifically want to try and get a monitor working on the laptop. In which case you will have to fly blind and get the 2nd display operating without seeing what your doing.

I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 01:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
patonb's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,737
Default Re: Monitor Output Problem

You could try function, aka the fn button, and f5.

This usually swaps the output to the monitor/external output.
Foldie = i7 950@ 4.0Ghz Gigabyte x58a-ud3r EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 3x2gb OCZ Gold Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no output to monitor 1337infamous Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 05-25-2009 03:19 PM
No output to the monitor dkkx809 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 03-05-2008 11:28 AM
New problem: no output because of monitor not vid card ulcajun New Systems | Building and Buying 13 09-17-2007 11:36 PM
No output to monitor kernan Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 10-23-2006 07:18 PM
No Monitor Output LLS207 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 05-02-2006 05:45 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.