Mic (Logitech) doesnt work with sound card (Realtek)? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2007, 12:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Default Mic (Logitech) doesnt work with sound card (Realtek)?

HI guys need some help ... :P

I've Toshiba Satellite A215-4747 laptop that came pre-installed with Vista. The sound card is Realtek. I installed Xp on it and the sound stopped working. I had to download a lota audio drivers b4 i found one that gave me sound. Im trying to make the driver work with my Logitech microphone headset.
The prob is other ppl in chatrooms can barely hear me, they say my voice is v. v. faint. I opened the sound recorder and spoke a little and then listened to it. The part i whistled at I hear that ok, but the part where i spoke i can barely hear. I went into every kind of setting i could think of. Now a friend says look at what is selected as ur sound recording device and that i should make that logitech. I checked that and its says 'Realtek HD audio input' and there is no other option in the drop down menu so how can i select Logitech. ???

midniter is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 02:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
san21893's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: Mic (Logitech) doesnt work with sound card (Realtek)?

I'm not sure which realtek driver you may have, but go to the microphone tab in it, select "beam forming" click microphone calibration and calibrate it, when it tries to listen to your voice, speak softly so it will boost teh volume later.

san21893 is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 10:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Mic (Logitech) doesnt work with sound card (Realtek)?

In the Realtek audio setttings...when i go under the 'microphone' tab i only see...
-Noise suppression
-Acoustic Echo Cancellation
and i have them both selected.

At the left bottom corner there is an info icon
which i clicked to see this info....
-Audio driver version:
-DriectX Version: DirectX 9.0c
-Audio COntroller: HD Audio
-Audio Codec: ALC268
-Language: Auto

I do not see the 'beam forming"
midniter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus P5B Deluxe and Sound Card kur0suto New Systems | Building and Buying 2 09-08-2007 02:38 PM
Hotrodding the X-Fi Apokalipse Overclocking and Modding 9 08-13-2007 10:39 AM
Sound card vs. Integrated sound on p35-ds3r MOBO OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 8 07-16-2007 12:32 PM
Did my sound card die on me?? :( Nuggets Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-13-2007 11:17 AM
Sound Card Issues!! Nuggets Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 06-12-2007 08:40 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.