Lost Password - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2008, 07:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Lost Password

ok, well this actually fits in a few different places. basically, a guy gave me an acer aspire *I say basically, he brought me the computer, told me to fix it, didn't leave a name or anything, never heard back, been 3 months, and I'm leaving next month. if he doesn't come claim it I'm taking it with me* but I don't have the password to log into VISTA. I do not have the little password reset removeable data disk, so how do I reset it?
__________________

__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 09:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default Re: Lost Password

Hmm, only way I could think is just reinstalling the OS using a disk. No other way to get past vista passwords so far as I know.
__________________

__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 09:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Lost Password

Try going into admin throught 'Safe Mode'
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 09:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: Lost Password

still brings up password prompt... I distinctly remember that he had a bsod, but I don't remember when it happened. could there perhaps be an os problem that would cause me to not be able to get into the os? even from safe mode?

stops loading at drivers\crcdisk.sys before going to the login screen
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 10:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default Re: Lost Password

Vista disallows access through the safe mode to admin activities. It is designed that way to protect against getting in without authority, since it was a problem with XP.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 10:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Lost Password

UM, this scarely sounds like trouble..... ie Stolen.

Becareful.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 10:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: Lost Password

I can only truly say that I know the guy and I doubt it's been stolen... i.e. I don't know for sure. I'm in college, and I get TONS of repairs here *I run an under-the-works business here* and this guy just never came back for his pc. I've only done maybe 15 repairs this semester. this was just from early on. anyways... no other ideas? ok, what about putting XP on it formatting it with an XP disk? I've heard there were issues with that
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 11:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Lost Password

There is no way to recover the Password with Vista yet. You can try the tools in teh XP Password discs and that under the Windows index. (Link in my Sig)

But other than that you would have to either reinstall Vista HP or go with XP. Just make sure you can get drivers!!
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 08:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Lost Password

I'd just do a reinstall with whatever flavor of Windows that's on the license sticker on the bottom.

I'd hate to see a Vista key go to waste. There are programs that will reset Vista passwords. If you can reset the password, you could then use Magical Jelly Bean Keyfinder to grab the Vista key to reinstall Vista.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 10:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Lost Password

Maybe use Ubuntu? No idea how that would help but might be a thought.
__________________

zedman3d is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Password Protect Printer Gizzard1200 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-08-2009 06:50 PM
Admin password lost akasixcon Microsoft Windows and Software 5 04-02-2008 08:33 PM
Legal password issue superdave1984 Off Topic Discussion 3 01-24-2008 02:53 PM
windows password to access network service rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 8 01-13-2008 10:41 PM
Lost Planet DX10 Demo Osiris PC Gaming 0 05-16-2007 12:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.