loose wire??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2009, 12:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
apsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 248
Default loose wire???

A co-worker of mine asked me if I could take a look at her laptop. All I know about it at this point is that it is an HP, it has a picture of a wave on the case.
The problem is that when she turns it on, all the lights come on as it normally would, but the screen doesn't. The only time the screen works is when it is open less than 2 inches (probably something like a 20-25 deg. angle).
She is going to bring it to work sometime in the near future, and I figured maybe somebody else has come across something like this, and could give me some thoughts.
My guess is a loose cable or something of the sort, but I haven't had much experience with laptops so I'm not sure. Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
I may be schizophrenic, but at least I have each other :crazy:
apsoul is offline  
Old 12-22-2009, 01:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: loose wire???

the sensor that controls when it open and closed might be out of whack. Is it still under warranty?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-22-2009, 04:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: loose wire???

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
the sensor that controls when it open and closed might be out of whack. Is it still under warranty?
Agreed. There is a sensor / cable that controls when the computer turns on the screen when opening. Easiest and cheapest fix would be to send it in if it is still under warranty.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 12-22-2009, 05:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
apsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 248
Default Re: loose wire???

I don't believe it is under warranty. I will ask her when I see her, but I'm rather certain she would have tried to do that before asking me.

What would you suggest as an easy fix for that? I don't thinks she would mind if the screen was always on while the laptop was on if that would be the easiest route.
__________________
I may be schizophrenic, but at least I have each other :crazy:
apsoul is offline  
Old 12-22-2009, 06:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: loose wire???

Easiest fix would be to purchase another laptop or purchase a monitor and connect the laptop through that.

There is no easy way to fix laptop hardware unless it is the hard drive or RAM. All other components require the dismantling of the plastic frame and about two dozen screws.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 12-22-2009, 09:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: loose wire???

Very much so. It'd be cheaper even to send it back to the manufacturer, but pay a fee for repairing it. Cheaper than buying a new one. Or do the monitor as Lexluethar said.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-24-2009, 08:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
apsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 248
Default Re: loose wire???

well I talked to her today and she has no clue what the warranty status of it is, but I asked her how long she has had the laptop and she said under a year, so I told her to find out if it is under warranty or not, and if so then to do that.

Just for my personal knowledge, if I were to attempt a fix on something like that, what would be involved in fixing the sensor? I have taken 2 laptops completely apart (one of them being the ibook g4 i'm typing on now) so I am familiar with the dismantling of them. (Although the reason that the hp laptop i took apart probably didn't work when i put it back together was the sensor that i didn't know about. oops)
__________________

__________________
I may be schizophrenic, but at least I have each other :crazy:
apsoul is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Button Wire to Motherboard.. ? NayNay1991x Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 12-13-2008 07:08 PM
Wire issue. help would be great! Antimatter Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 16 09-28-2008 07:37 AM
crysis omg molsen Off Topic Discussion 77 06-17-2007 03:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.