Looking for low heat laptops

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aro2220

Solid State Member
:)Hi guys,

I'm in the market for a new laptop. I'd like one that is quiet and cool so that when I'm studying in the library I don't bother other people and, when its on my lap I don't burn myself.

Does anyone know which companies are the best at heat dissapation? Is a bulkier case the way to go? I only need portability. An ultra thin form is not important to me since it would be a laptop and not a tablet pc.

I'm thinking of an Acer. There are some models with good specs for reasonable prices at some nearby computer stores. How are they?

I had an Asus and it was fine for a while but it started to get really hot. Then the hard drive melted. It was on 24/7 for a year though.

The main problem is noise (from the fan freaking out) and it being uncomfortable on my lap.

Thanks for all of your help!

I hated Acer as a brand. It's mainly just low quality builds for cheap price. Terrible support as well and they don't hold up well, either. I've had to reapir way too many of these and deal with too many weird problems, crappy support, and crazy drivers to recommend their laptops (desktops too for that matter) to anyone. They're just cheap crap, plain and simple. If you want a real quality build for reasonable prices I would look at Toshiba, or for a little more MSI and Asus (which are great for gaming machines).

Leaving laptops on 24/7 is terrible for them as they all build up heat. If you're going to do that at least buy a cheap cooling pad for them so they don't die from the heat stress.