Lenovo R61 Laptop. Changed LCD Panel. Now I get a slew of errors upon bootup. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2008, 03:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Lenovo R61 Laptop. Changed LCD Panel. Now I get a slew of errors upon bootup.

I work in a school district. We picked up about 450 Lenovo R61 laptops. Two had broken LCDs. (**** kids).

I changed the LCD panel on both. Both laptops were easy to change. I worked very slow and delicately with the wires and such.

I booted each laptop up and after the initial BIOS screen, it prompted me with a slew of errors. I don't recall each of them. But it was black screen, white text, left side.

I remember seeing something about the USB controller failed, network connection failed, etc etc etc.

The strange thing is, both laptops did this. I'm thinking we'll just re-clone the drives, since we have a master drive handy. But I have no clue why an LCD panel would intefere with everything else...

Any ideas?
__________________

Jayce is offline  
Old 07-12-2008, 05:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Lenovo R61 Laptop. Changed LCD Panel. Now I get a slew of errors upon bootup.

The damage may have been done when the laptops were powered up with the bad panels in place.
__________________

KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 07-12-2008, 06:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Lenovo R61 Laptop. Changed LCD Panel. Now I get a slew of errors upon bootup.

Yeah since they were in use before it could have happened then, no proof it was the lcd panels at all. I can't think of why an lcd panel replacement would cause a slew of errors like that unless you jarred something loose when you were replacing them, but as you said, you were very careful. Cloning the drives certainly wouldn't hurt anything, so why not? The damage may have been done before you got to them anyways.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-13-2008, 12:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Lenovo R61 Laptop. Changed LCD Panel. Now I get a slew of errors upon bootup.

The way the Lenovo's are made, I just can't imagine I did anything wrong. It's one connection. I took it off carefully. Besides that, it's metal hinges with metal screws... simple as that.

This is confusing, but I'll check it out more on monday. I realized this friday afternoon after a long day and closed up shop when I saw the errors. :P
Jayce is offline  
Old 07-13-2008, 01:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Lenovo R61 Laptop. Changed LCD Panel. Now I get a slew of errors upon bootup.

That's what I'm thinking, I seriously doubt it's anything you could've done. Many Lenovos are made that way from what I've seen and it's an incredibly simple swap out. Well I guess you'll know more on Monday; I'll be interested to see what the culprit was or if just a new disk clone fixes everything.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 08:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Lenovo R61 Laptop. Changed LCD Panel. Now I get a slew of errors upon bootup.

Rookie Mistake...

The hard drives were removed before the laptops were placed in my possession. They were sitting on a co-workers desk and I had no idea.


Duuuur!
Jayce is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 06:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Lenovo R61 Laptop. Changed LCD Panel. Now I get a slew of errors upon bootup.

lol well that will happen, we've all made rookie mistakes. At least it means less work for ya
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop LCD is dim wforehand Laptops and Notebooks 7 01-29-2009 12:19 PM
Black Viper's Top tweaks for a faster PC xXxexpertxXx Overclocking and Modding 0 02-21-2008 10:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.