Latitude D830 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2009, 10:41 PM   #11 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Latitude D830

Installing Windows Vista - NeoSmart Technologies Wiki

It doesn matter. A format erases all data on the laptop.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-24-2009, 09:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Latitude D830

mak, thanks for answering all my questions.

one last one, so even though this guy has windows vista business, and i put windows vista home premium, it will just use the premimum data and that will be the OP from now on?
and another thing, the BIOS password is still there, will this CD allow me to reformat it and also, will it erase the BIOS password as well?
__________________

Bizzy is offline  
Old 02-25-2009, 02:56 AM   #13 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Latitude D830

No it will now erase the BIOS Password. That will be there until he can get the password from the original owner.

Yes it will use Home Premium from now on once you install it. Nothing will be left of the business install.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-25-2009, 10:34 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Latitude D830

Is there any way, at all, AT ALL to get this BIOS password removed?
Bizzy is offline  
Old 02-25-2009, 10:52 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Latitude D830

Reset the bios - something that isn't easy on a laptop. Google it to see if there are any tutorials on it. It is a pain because if possible, you have to take the entire laptop apart.

This isn't even a guarantee fix as some of the newer BIOS setups will save that password so that people can't just reset the BIOS to bypass the password.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 02-25-2009, 03:56 PM   #16 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Latitude D830

If clearing the CMOS like Lex said doesnt do it then no. Nukem was asking the same thing cause he is in a similar situation. Sadly the password is still saved somehow.

The only thing i could really think of, reflash the BIOS on there. Maybe that will take it back to default settings without any passwords. But that isnt even a guarantee.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-12-2009, 07:28 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 1
Wink Re: Latitude D830

I recently had the bios locked on my latitude D830. Thereafter got support from DELL and was able to unlock it with an administrative password. If anyone would like a copy of those passwords, please email me.
ThinkQuic is offline  
Old 06-12-2009, 08:02 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Latitude D830

Product Lattitude CMOS
Version CPi
User ID (none)
Password nz0u4bbe
Notes enter password, then press control + enter.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I want to buy a new harddrive for my Dell Latitude D505... DMcLaughlin Laptops and Notebooks 3 11-27-2008 12:45 PM
College, Light Gaming - Latitude D430 or Vostro 1310 UsernameTaken Laptops and Notebooks 11 08-30-2008 09:52 PM
Dell Latitude D620 Screen doesnt turn on ? NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 1 08-03-2008 06:05 PM
Going to sell my dell latitude c610 Bradlays Laptops and Notebooks 3 01-07-2008 11:38 PM
Is it worth reformating Dell Latitude? Giles Microsoft Windows and Software 10 11-24-2007 07:23 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.