Laptops and Vista are incompatible? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2007, 11:28 AM   #11 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Laptops and Vista are incompatible?

its an intergrated chup? chup i mean chip, and he does have all the nice features turned on like areo and glass, i upgraded on my desktop from 1GB to 2GB a while back, big improvement, also in laptops i think the slower rpm drives contribute to sluggishness as well
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 11:36 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Laptops and Vista are incompatible?

Well if the guy's running that proc and is running 1 gig of memory, i'm guessing he's not running an 8600m or anything. Most laptops with dedicated video cards, from what I've seen, tend to come with more then 1 gig of memory.

The 5,4000 RPM hard drives are noticeably slower on Vista when booting up, so that does make a difference.

But the 1gig of memory on his laptop is what's hurting his performance the most.
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 11:53 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Thumbs down Re: Laptops and Vista are incompatible?

I bought an Acer laptop 1 month ago. It came with 1g ram and 5400rpm hd and vista preinstalled. It was slow!
Even my wife who thinks computers are all the same told me it was slow. So I installed xp pro.
It now runs much smoother and faster.
IMO, laptops w/vista should have 2g min of ram.
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 01:16 PM   #14 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Laptops and Vista are incompatible?

some can handle upto 4GB
Nick is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 02:11 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Laptops and Vista are incompatible?

Any laptop that has two DIMM slots can handle up to 4 gigs, providing you have 2x 2 gig sticks.

And providing you're running windows vista 64-bit, since in 32-bit you can't use the full 4 gigs.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 02:25 PM   #16 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Laptops and Vista are incompatible?

4GB on a laptop with a seperate GPU would be awesome for gaming, provdidng it has a core2duo of at least 2Ghz
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xbox live with Vista wycherley Microsoft XBox 1 08-16-2007 11:40 AM
Vista Upgrade and Optical drive problems SteveMKIIDub Microsoft Windows and Software 3 08-11-2007 07:33 PM
Vista on laptop? How terrible is it? Arumuni Laptops and Notebooks 17 07-22-2007 02:15 AM
Is Vista with the 64 bit architecture even out yet? AtomicAudio Laptops and Notebooks 9 07-16-2007 08:21 PM
Microsoft admits Vista failure kfc469 Microsoft Windows and Software 19 04-22-2007 09:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.