Laptop won't boot after new memory install, NEED HELP!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2010, 09:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default Laptop won't boot after new memory install, NEED HELP!!!!

I have a Gateway NX570X Laptop, it came installed with only 1 GB memory in 2x512MB sticks, 80 GB HDD, running Vista Home Premium 32 bit OS. I called an online store and told them what i had and that I wanted to upgrade storage and memory, he sent me a WD 320/5400 HDD and a stick of Kingston 1 GB/667 and a stick of 2GB/667. I got the memory in last night and the computer would not boot. I have yet to clone the HDD and install it yet, still perplexed by that idea. PLEASE HELP!!!!

Chris
__________________

Allen 73 is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 10:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Laptop won't boot after new memory install, NEED HELP!!!!

Try each memory chip one at a time, might be a faulty chip.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 10:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Laptop won't boot after new memory install, NEED HELP!!!!

OK, tried each singularly and each is fine, tried reinstalling both again but in different slots, still no dice...any other ideas? Thanks much.

Chris
Allen 73 is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 10:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Laptop won't boot after new memory install, NEED HELP!!!!

Might be a crappy suggestion and have nothing to do with the issue, but maybe they didn't work because of the different size limits? Sticks before were 256MB each, now you're installing 2 different size which are 1GB and 2GB.
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 10:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Laptop won't boot after new memory install, NEED HELP!!!!

If they are dual slots, that might be...

Edit: Just thought of something. Is there a setting in BIOS to set it to dual or seperate slots?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 11:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Laptop won't boot after new memory install, NEED HELP!!!!

Reading up on the Dual-Channel support, and seems it doesn't matter the capacity of the modules once it has the same timing, it should work; so scratch my idea from above .

Reading the specs for your laptop: https://support.gateway.com/s/Mobile...4077Rsp6.shtml
It said:
Quote:
Memory:
* 533 and 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
* Dual channel capable
* Two 200-pin SODIMM sockets on motherboard
* Both sockets end-user accessible
* Expandable to 2 GB DDR2
My question is, is it expandable to 2GB per slot or total is 2GB? If total is 2GB, then you installed 3GB and it would not work, but if it's the other option...well I'm not too sure.
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 12:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Laptop won't boot after new memory install, NEED HELP!!!!

It seems that is can only hold a max of 2gb. Guess he didn't know that.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-18-2010, 08:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Laptop won't boot after new memory install, NEED HELP!!!!

Guys...I appreciate all of your help on this and I am sorry for not getting back to you sooner on the posts. What bothers me is that i bought 3 GB of RAM based on what an "expert" at TD told me I could do. He actually said that Icould put 4 GB in but that it wouldn't be fully used so I just bought the 2 GB and the 1 GB. Now I am only using 2 GB in one slot...it seems to be working fine though. It does seem that the thing can only manage 2 GB max though. Thanks again for all of the help.

Chris
Allen 73 is offline  
Old 03-18-2010, 08:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Laptop won't boot after new memory install, NEED HELP!!!!

No prob, hope everything works out. He maybe mistaken the specs or just missed it, it happens .
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 03-18-2010, 11:51 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Laptop won't boot after new memory install, NEED HELP!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allen 73 View Post
Guys...I appreciate all of your help on this and I am sorry for not getting back to you sooner on the posts. What bothers me is that i bought 3 GB of RAM based on what an "expert" at TD told me I could do. He actually said that Icould put 4 GB in but that it wouldn't be fully used so I just bought the 2 GB and the 1 GB. Now I am only using 2 GB in one slot...it seems to be working fine though. It does seem that the thing can only manage 2 GB max though. Thanks again for all of the help.

Chris
Where did you go?

Sadly there are a lot of people in the IT field that believe they are experts, but they end us screwing over customers because they don't know things like RAM limitations.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HP Laptop won't boot "load needed DLLs for kernal" Namek Microsoft Windows and Software 1 07-09-2009 08:49 AM
How do I get back dual boot option at startup? NoExcess Microsoft Windows and Software 4 07-02-2009 03:35 PM
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
memory laptop question, alextrzaska New Systems | Building and Buying 2 09-15-2008 02:14 AM
500gig externaal usb HD ziceman Microsoft Windows and Software 6 03-13-2008 01:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.