laptop will not load OS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2010, 01:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Unhappy laptop will not load OS

i have a laptop, it has been running slow, problems loading new applications ( i was running vista) i decided to install W7. while installing laptop began running extremly hot, the install never finished the pc shut down.... so i tried to install again.. pc kept shuting down... i done this numberous times.. took the hard drive out and installed OS on it on different laptop susessfuly... then put it back in first pc... .. it starts to load but then blue screan flashes really fast then restarts pc..... now at screan where it tells me to repair or start windows normaly... so i repair ... not sussesful .... no solution... CAN ANYONE ASSIST ME WITH THIS ISSUE... DO I HAVE A HARDWARE ISSUE THATS NOT ALLOWING IT TO LOAD.. HELP PLEASE!! THANKS
__________________

bigbaby is offline  
Old 06-20-2010, 03:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: laptop will not load OS

It's BSOD'ing because you installed it using another computer. It made a hardware profile for that particular laptop. You'll need to install it on the original laptop.

if it's an issue of heat, prop the laptop up so that the fans get ample circulation. Get a laptop cooling pad if you must, or even prop it up on a book and not cover the fan ports.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-20-2010, 01:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: laptop will not load OS

hey man thanks i million... the propping did not work but i did compromise with an ice pack 2 sandwich bangs and a T-shirt..lol... and it installed... do u have any idea why it over heats in a matter of min.
bigbaby is offline  
Old 06-20-2010, 02:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: laptop will not load OS

Try blowing the dust out of the fan vents; maybe there's a lot of dust blocking airflow.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-20-2010, 03:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: laptop will not load OS

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Try blowing the dust out of the fan vents; maybe there's a lot of dust blocking airflow.
Isn't it recommended you try and remove dust monthly? I'd open it up and use a hoover or hairdryer to blow out as much dust as possible. Also check that the fan actually works.
Clarkie is offline  
Old 06-20-2010, 03:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: laptop will not load OS

It's better to use canned air; vacuums can build a static charge if not used properly, and a hairdryer could get hot and doesn't blow a concentrated amount of air as well. And you should remove dust whenever, because it depends on your environment. Some environments are more dusty than others, so dust will build up faster.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop Battery Tips Harper Laptops and Notebooks 36 01-03-2012 12:36 AM
Please help-Malware sweeper detect Surveille at each startup in XP WhatToDo? HijackThis Logs (finished) 57 12-21-2009 05:45 PM
Teacher + School >>> Laptop + Home - Connectivity Issues. Jayce Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 08-28-2008 09:24 PM
Recurring BSOD Kritikal Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 05-07-2008 09:28 PM
Ubuntu Causing Laptop HDD Failure? Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 3 11-02-2007 04:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.