laptop Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2010, 07:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default laptop Upgrade

Got a dell inspiron 1501 in excellent condition (Barely used) given to me for free. I upgraded it to 2GB Ram 2 x 1GB sticks a while ago, from 512MB.

Reinstalled it with Windows 7 Ultimate.

It only has a single core turion MK-36 though @ 2GHZ.

Which is really letting the system down.

I'm wondering whether it's worth upgrading to a dual core part as I can get them for around £9-10.

I like to play runescape/Music/Msn/Facebook at the same time and it literally crawls

And How Risky would it be?

Be Nice if someone could tell me which processors I could put in. It's a S1 socket Laptop

Current CPU:

Turion 64 MK-36 2000 MHz 512 KB 800 MHz 10x 1.15 V 31 W Socket S1 September 1, 2006 TMDMK36HAX4CM


Saw one of these:

Turion 64 X2 TL-52 1600 MHz 2 ◊ 512 KB 800 MHz 8x 0.8-1.125 31 W Socket S1 May 17, 2006 TMDTL52HAX5CT

Cheers lads.
__________________

__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 12-06-2010, 09:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: laptop Upgrade

I read around. The highest it will take is a Turion 64 X2 TL-60. You should be OK with the 52.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-06-2010, 09:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: laptop Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
I read around. The highest it will take is a Turion 64 X2 TL-60. You should be OK with the 52.
You've got a pm.
__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 12-06-2010, 09:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: laptop Upgrade

Thanks for your help, ordered the TL-52 Just generally worried about changing the CPU/taking lappy apart, anyone got any tips?

+ What paste should I use for the new CPU
__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop Upgrade McHopsky Laptops and Notebooks 2 01-25-2009 06:57 PM
Laptop upgrade? Skiller. Laptops and Notebooks 9 02-20-2008 01:03 AM
Can i upgrade my Laptop sailpog System Upgrades 7 05-23-2006 11:51 PM
Please help me out....trying to upgrade RAM on a laptop 808Flip System Upgrades 0 02-25-2006 02:35 AM
upgrade ram on laptop martyb Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-17-2005 05:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.