Laptop time... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2011, 12:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Laptop time...

Hey Guys,
As my life becomes more and more mobile I need a laptop for these reasons:
1. I go over to friends a lot and want to hook up to their TV to watch Media.
2. I am an avid blogger so having a laptop will cross out all the tablet devices and their odd solutions, PC all the way.
3. I want to be able to watch 720p and up video at 60 fps..
4. This is NOT for gaming.

I think I will go with the Dell XPS 14z Basic Model....
SPECS:

2nd generation Intel® Core™ I5-2430M processor 2.40 GHz with Turbo Boost 2.0 up to 3.00 GHz
Intel® HD Graphics 3000
6GB Shared Dual Channel DDR3 1333MHz Memory
8X Slot Load CD/DVD Burner (Dual Layer DVD+/-R Drive)
58 WHr 8-Cell Battery
English Keyboard + English Docs + US Power Cord
500GB 7200 RPM SATA Hard Drive
14.0" Hi-Def (720p) True Life WLED Display with 1.3MP Hi-Def Webcam
Integrated 10/100/1000 Network Card



Do you guys think it can play HD video smoothly?

Thanks a lot people,
Preacher
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 12:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: Laptop time...

720p is HD, just not true HD. in england we call it HD ready, so
Quote:
720p and up
this computer does not meet that requirement.
If you want full HD, look for PCs with a resolution of 1920 x 1080

however, alot of media played through say HD channels on a TV are 720p.
And as it has no bluray player you couldnt play high def stuff from a disc, you'd have to download bluray rips or stream HD material
__________________

Sheepykins is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 01:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Laptop time...

I am not looking for native 1080, just the hardware ability for it to play "squeeshed" into a 720p screen...
The HD I have is all digital file format, who on earth uses CD/DVD these days?
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 01:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: Laptop time...

dvd is a digital format
you said 720p and up, so i figured.

yeah most of your digital stuff should squeeze down into 720p. you'll lose definition naturally
Sheepykins is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 01:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Laptop time...

You should be fine with that, Preacher. Integrated video isn't the best, but as you aren't gaming, it should easily play 720p.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 01:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Laptop time...

Question is will it run at 60FPS aka smoothly?
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 02:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Laptop time...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Preacher View Post
Question is will it run at 60FPS aka smoothly?
The HD 3000 can playback 1080p video fine so 720p should be fine.

If you don't need an optical drive I would check out the Lenovo ThinkPad X220. It offers better build quality, better battery life, and a vastly superior screen if you get the optional premium lcd (IPS) display. Best of all it should be roughly the same price as well.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 02:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Laptop time...

Most of the specs fall below Dell's specs at 999USD... Besides I hate the look haha.
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I leave my laptop plugged in all the time? echox91 Laptops and Notebooks 7 07-19-2009 06:07 PM
laptop time! questions COD2_fanatic System Upgrades 4 11-08-2006 03:03 PM
Using desktop monitor same time as Laptop Midnight Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-12-2006 01:28 PM
leave laptop on all the time Alfredw1 System Upgrades 6 08-06-2006 10:29 PM
Have to set time each startup on my laptop. khali1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-14-2006 07:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.