Laptop SysBoard Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2009, 06:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 258
Default Laptop SysBoard Question

My laptop is a HP Pavilion dv2855ee. Now apparently my sys board had a problem traced to the nvidia chipset. I was wondering if it was possible to replace the chipset to get the display running again as opposed to buying an entirely new board instead.

If I end up buying a new board, it would cost me the same as buying a new HP dv3 (with same specs) but with an Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 4500MHD instead of the nvidia 8400GS on my current laptop. However, I need all the stuff saved in my old hard drive.
__________________

chanchan05 is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 10:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Laptop SysBoard Question

Check ebay, and the answers No. You can never change chipsets on any mobo.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 09:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 258
Default Re: Laptop SysBoard Question

I cant buy on ebay, got no credit card and its kinda not very well supported here in the Phils.

Whats the best option for me though? Buy a new one and ask the guys at HP, since I might be buying from them again, to transfer the contents, or to just have the thing repaired?
chanchan05 is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 09:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Laptop SysBoard Question

Hi,

In your situation, I'd just buy a new laptop.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 10:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 258
Default Re: Laptop SysBoard Question

Ok, since in this situation I think that if I buy a new one, it would be best to buy from them again so as to have the contents transfered without problems, whats the difference between buying Compaq Presario and HP Pavilion? Aside from the price difference? I found two units that have the same specs but the price tag is like, almost $500 difference in favor of the Compaq.
chanchan05 is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 04:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 258
Default Re: Laptop SysBoard Question

Ok this is weird. I just tried opening my laptop a while ago and wow it worked, rolled the display driver back immediately and now its working. The bluetooth hardware cant be found but its nothing I'd miss much when I have data cables. So now Im guessing if it really is the sysboard after all.
chanchan05 is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 11:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Laptop SysBoard Question

Hmm. Odd, but not totally off.

See if Compaq has a systems test program for your model, and try running it.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 07:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 258
Default Re: Laptop SysBoard Question

I suddenly got a BSOD regarding the display drivers after I tried reupdating it, so I rolled it back. How does one deal with fixing BSOD errors anyway?
chanchan05 is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 01:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Laptop SysBoard Question

You need to read the error number. It points out hats usally bad.

a BSOD is usually stored in the dump (.dmp) filers, and can be read using windbg from MS.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-02-2009, 12:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 258
Default Re: Laptop SysBoard Question

Yeah, its the nvidia drivers
__________________

chanchan05 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying Laptop... Question browserdaily Laptops and Notebooks 11 08-25-2009 05:15 PM
Laptop speed question CmdrChris Laptops and Notebooks 2 07-25-2009 12:49 PM
memory laptop question, alextrzaska New Systems | Building and Buying 2 09-15-2008 02:14 AM
XP PC networked with Vista laptop mnelson07 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 08-06-2007 06:57 AM
Apple Laptop Question...(wifi) Millenniumtiger Laptops and Notebooks 1 07-06-2007 10:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.