Laptop Question.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2008, 12:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Laptop Question....

Okay so today i got my MVP Package in the mail I will post pics of that in a second. But my question concerns my laptop. Inspiron 1501 from Dell. Now in the package was a PCMIA (Type II) MoGo Mouse. Which is excellent as i hate the touch pad. But how do i connect the freaking thing?

Here i show what the card i remved looks like and the mouse next to it. Now when i try and insert the mouse into the slot it is like it is hitting the short side where the plastic piece shows on the piece removed.



Now this is what the side of the laptop looks like:


Click for larger image

Now the left side on the top is the card slot. So is it the wrong type of card? According to the reviews and everything it is a Type I and Type II slot. Yet i can not insert the mouse anyway shape or form. Man i hate laptops at times like this...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 01:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default Re: Laptop Question....

i'm confused where it it hitting :S
can you even get it into the hole?
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 01:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Laptop Question....

I can insert it into the hole. The top one on the left. But when i do it only goes in part of the way. If you look at that black plastic piece that i removed from teh slot you see how only half of it goes all teh way down to the end of the mouse.

It seems that the mouse when i try to insert it hits that section as if there is something there.

Alright let me try this. When i insert hte mouse it hits about half way in. But i can push the left side in further while the right side has hit something.

So by looking at the piece removed you see that then the card is inserted the left side goes the length of the mouse while the right side only goes half way down.

So to me it seems that the style of card is not the same even though they say it can use type I and type II cards.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 04:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: Laptop Question....

Is it the BT model Makeveli213?
I'm guessing that you've already seen this but, FWIW

http://www.newtonperipherals.com/Doc...04.01.2008.pdf
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 04:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Laptop Question....

Sounds like you're installing a a pcmcia card into a pc express card slot, which generally doesn't work. So it's like this, right?

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 04:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: Laptop Question....

Yea, good point I was just browsing around the Inspirons to try and find a 15xx model that came with a Type I or II...couldn't find any But, I thought that perhaps he could've had one anyway ...
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 05:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Laptop Question....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. IP View Post
Is it the BT model Makeveli213?
I'm guessing that you've already seen this but, FWIW

http://www.newtonperipherals.com/Doc...04.01.2008.pdf
Yes it is the BT model.

Jorsoft is right. The card is OCMCIA while hte slot is Express. Which stinks as i would love to use this. I wonder if i could hook it up to the USB BT dongle i got.

Any way that there is a adapter to go from PCMCIA ro Express so that i can charge it?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 05:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: Laptop Question....

Of course. Just a matter of shopping around. No laptop manufacturer with a "sane" marketing plan would not throw in a Type I or II without a common method for the user to convert their hardware to make it compatible. There are USB to PCMCIA as well. You may or may not want to consider the USB adapter for cross-platform compatability too.
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 06:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Laptop Question....

Well the only reason i want to the adapter is to charge it. Since it doesnt have any other option to charge. But from what i see all the adapters cost from $70 and up. That is just crazy. I think this thing will jsut sit and do nothing for a while...
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 06:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: Laptop Question....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Well the only reason i want to the adapter is to charge it. Since it doesnt have any other option to charge. But from what i see all the adapters cost from $70 and up. That is just crazy. I think this thing will jsut sit and do nothing for a while...
Right, yea I read the manual. I meant so that you could charge it anywhere on anything without having the laptop powered on.
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
memory laptop question, alextrzaska New Systems | Building and Buying 2 09-15-2008 02:14 AM
Laptop hardware upgrade Simple question Hamuth Laptops and Notebooks 3 11-11-2007 12:47 PM
Apple Laptop Question...(wifi) Millenniumtiger Laptops and Notebooks 1 07-06-2007 10:40 PM
Laptop keys question Dio1080 Laptops and Notebooks 3 06-25-2007 08:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.