LAPTOP PROBLEM!! URGENT HELP NEEDED PLEASE!

Status
Not open for further replies.

computer-illiterate

Beta member
hy
when it comes to computers i am lost and the other night, my laptop froze and after selecting my computer to look for files it was not responding. i turned off the laptop and turned it bak on again .. BUT.. after turning back on all seemed fine, lights came on start up page began then halfway through loading the start page it froze and went to a completely black creen with just a flashing white dash in the top right corner!?!.. i tried again and again to turn on and off but still no joy the only thing it shows when starting is the option to press F9 OR F10 for boot something or other (like i said i am totally lacking in knowledge when it comes to computers :wtf:).. its also making whirring nosies and a ticking noise like the cd drive is whiring and griding? please help i am a uni student and all my work is on ther to be handed in in a week..
ps please talk in non computer terms asd i will struggle to understand sorry for inconviniance.. a panicked student! :(

MAKE BACKUPS!!
That being said...
Download ubuntu, burn it to a CD, put the CD in your laptop and press F9 or F10 (whichever it says at POST). You should see a list of bootable devices, change the one at the top to your CD drive and allow it to boot.

For gods sake man, burn a CD of your documents once a month at least! You "normal users" and your lack of backups! I have a RAID 10 server storing all my files, redundancy!

Hi,