LAPTOP AS A MODEM?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2010, 10:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Carlosdzv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 74
Lightbulb LAPTOP AS A MODEM??

can i use my Laptop as an internet transmitter for my desktop? the reason i am asking its because my desktop is too far from the modem to be plugged in ,, so i was thinking if i can connect my laptop with the internet cable to my desktop and some how transmit the internet from it ? can i do this? how exactly ? i found some info about it but its all about from a laptop to a ps3 and:whistle xbox
__________________

Carlosdzv is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 10:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 106
Default Re: LAPTOP AS A MODEM??

Wat?
Don't you mean wireless repeater?
so...

t3h interwebz--->modem--->laptop*****wireless****>Desktop?

you can bridge the ethernet and the wireless connection together.
__________________

__________________
Copy & Paste
jtfunkymojo is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 11:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: LAPTOP AS A MODEM??

Just use a wireless router...
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 11:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Carlosdzv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 74
Default Re: LAPTOP AS A MODEM??

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Just use a wireless router...
i am trying to connect my desktop.. not laptop. i cant wirelles with the desktop only with the Ethernet cable and i dont want to do that because its far from my router.. can i connect my laptop and desktop together with an Ethernet cable and so i can have internet access with my desktop? ( laptops has access to the internet wireless)
Carlosdzv is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 10:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: LAPTOP AS A MODEM??

There are wireless adapters for a desktop. They come in any PCI range and USB.




http://www.newegg.com/Store/SubCateg...eless-Adapters

You could also get a longer Ethernet cable.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...02&cp_id=10208
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 10:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: LAPTOP AS A MODEM??

Ya, I was gonna say, get one of those USB things. I think mine may have been a few bucks at Walmart. I have one for my daughters computer upstairs. It plugs right in and after a quick install your desktop can get wifi.
__________________
pro2a is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 11:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Carlosdzv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 74
Default Re: LAPTOP AS A MODEM??

Thanks but I know ican buy that..see. the thing is iwanted to try a diffrent way..and I am not sure you understand what iwant todo ( maybe iam explaining it wrong) I want my laptop to pass the internet that is getting wireless to my desktop with the ethernet cable
Wireless signal>laptop>ethernet cable>desktop. boom internet onmy desktop.
Carlosdzv is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 12:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: LAPTOP AS A MODEM??

Biggest issue is you only have 1 network plug on your laptop.. Unless you are wifi..

Then you need a cross-over cable. That connects the lappy to desktop.

Then use internet shared co0nnection (ics) and it'll work.

Heres how to make one: LWD - How To Make a Crossover Cable


The biggest issue with this forum is people don't answer the asked questions.... They just toss their own opinion into what they think you should do.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 12:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: LAPTOP AS A MODEM??

Are you running through a mobile ISP, Like AT&T has that little wireless dongle? As for that I am not sure.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 12:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: LAPTOP AS A MODEM??

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
The biggest issue with this forum is people don't answer the asked questions.... They just toss their own opinion into what they think you should do.
Sometimes the asked question is just a bad idea. Why buy or make a crossover cable when you can pick up a usb network adapter for less than $15 that will offer less cable mess and faster performance?

Newegg.com - AZiO AWU354 IEEE 802.11b/g USB 2.0 Wireless Adapter Up to 54Mbps Wireless Data Rates 64/128-Bit WEP, WPA, WPA2
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using my laptop on someone elses modem weas134 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 10-15-2009 04:58 AM
Cable modem PC Laptop networking problem. shoesup12 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 04-17-2006 04:06 PM
2 Q: Laptop CPU, Cable/DSL Modem? strategist333 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 06-16-2005 05:29 PM
Can't connect laptop to existing hub/dsl modem shelldawn Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 0 03-14-2005 08:40 PM
laptop modem issue tigerpc Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 01-27-2005 12:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.